Sebastian

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/12/2019 - 15/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Learning new things is my main driver. I enjoy fixing things, music, math and nature. My home is the Blue Ridge Mountains in Asheville, North Carolina and from a young age I have always had a keen sense of wanting to explore as much as I can! My passion is sustainability and I'd like to help find solutions to our problems. One of my goals while in Europe is to see as many sustainable sites as I can, like the solar updraft tower in Madrid or the wind turbines of the coast of Denmark. I would also like to get any kind of hands on experience in regards to sustainability as well. I hope to get connected with people who will make me feel inspired and teach me their skills and pass their knowledge.

    While in North Carolina, I grew up in my parents coffee shop, where I learned to be a barista. Then, I moved on to help with home renovation projects in the Historic Montford Neighborhood in Asheville. There I learned several skills like demolition, carpentry, and painting. For the last three and a half years I have worked in a 36,000 sqft furniture warehouse called The Regeneration Station. Their main goal is to upcycle objects, resell furniture and decor, and sanitize good mattresses to reduce overall waste in our landfills. Oh, and we sold motorcycles for a little while too!

    This is where I learned and worked in a culture of leadership, caring and accountability. Half of the company specializes in helping people remove their junk and bring it to the proper recycling facilities. They are called Junk Recyclers. For the first year at the company I would drive a 16ft box truck around town, clean out entire homes for folks, save the good stuff to be resold and recycle the rest at the proper facilities.

    The other half of the company is a store front. I became a team member inside the store and my job would be to help sell what the Junk Recyclers brought in. During the same period we were selling used motorcycles and I became licensed to sell them. A personal accomplishment was when I improved the efficiency of the work shop and later helped hire a new furniture repair employee. Consequently we were able to start saving more items from being thrown away at the landfill. My passion for furniture pushed the company to create an entirely new position for me as the Intake Manager and my main responsibility was to go to auctions and estate sales to buy specialty pieces for the shop.

    The store is very large, so the way we keep it fully stocked is to let private individuals rent out booths. Imagine a big furniture market under one roof. I was able to have my own booth where my partner and I would begin our "micro-business" called Young Again Vintage. We specialized in vintage clothing from the 70's to the 90's, home decor and Mid-Century Modern restorations. This is when I got some hands on experience in running a business (though, on a modest and small scale) and improved my money management skills.

    I had many responsibilities during my time at this company and it pushed me to engage in new things and exercise some skills! I really enjoy mechanics, fixing and repairing things in general, but I always left time for my other passions like playing music in groups and art. I never want to stop learning and growing and I thrive in environments that challenge me.

  • Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Furniture Restoration, Carpentry, Small Engine Repair, Auto Maintenance, Business, Music, Art

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    I can play bass guitar, guitar, and cello. Can read and write music. I haven't been able to play a cello in a long time and would love to meet someone who could teach me how to be a cellist again! I have recorded two albums, love the music scene in my hometown, performed live at dozens of venues across North Carolina and the east coast, and even played a live set on Adult Swim one time!

    I also just finished an electricity class and sustainability class at a local community college in Asheville, North Carolina. Motorcycling is one of my favorite things as well. I hope to meet someone who knows Industrial Ecology or Cradle-to-Cradle design because I hope to study those subjects in the future.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Me and my 99 Kawasaki KLR 250 at Blue Ridge Daylily's in NC. I loved exploring on my motorcycle and finding beautiful places.
A table I built out of upcycled materials. A raw piece of pine, two industrial metal table legs from the 50's to give the table a floating effect, and I inlayed some Spanish tiles my mother gave me into the top of the table.
Me showing my team the plans I came up with for a large change in our warehouse.
Here's a picture of the booth I ran with my partner Coleen. We constructed the entire 10ftx12ft space from the ground up and built the custom shelving ourselves. The furniture is authentic, funky mid-century stuff and the clothing and decor is all vintage too.
The first piece me and my partner Coleen refinished together. Maker of furniture is unknown but we loved the handles on this piece.
Me and my partner Coleen.
Playing a house show in a basement in Asheville, NC. We would later go on to appear on an Adult Swim show live streamed from their head quarters in Atlanta, GA.
Picture of me and my dirt bike friends resting and debating where to explore next in the dense forest of Black Mountain, NC!
A snap of me helping my best friend record their DIY album in our home in Asheville!
One of my first restorations. Mid-century chair, cleaned up and freshly reupholstered.
1.) I was hired to deconstruct the wall marked with a red "x" and then build a new wall approximately 9ft long and 8ft high.
2.) I first had to deconstruct part of the existing wall then build a wall to extend to the boundary.
3.) The completed project! The wall was successfully constructed. I was able to reuse lumber from the old structure and complete the project with zero waste.

Feedback