Rumpus

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Italy ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Added note 11/2/19: Currently *most* interested in working on art projects - doing murals, paintings, drawings, string art, sculptures, video work, clothing, and if you've something you'd like me to learn and help with I'm very nimble handed and quick to pick up techniques... warning, though, my watercolor painting is horrid.

    Added note 04/11/2020: I'm open to doing Workaways in many other countries than those listed above, it just has a limit and I need to adjust where I mostly would like to do them once travel becomes a normal thing again.

    I'm from a small village of 900 people in the USA and always wanted to see the rest of the world, learn new things, gain fresh experiences, and grow.

    Getting to do that has been wonderful in the life path I've had, moving from place to place with the military as an adult and since 2016 have been traveling continuously with no end yet planned.

    My interests in Workaway opportunities are the helping good causes, meeting new people, gaining knowledge and abilities through real personal work and interactions, using the skills I've gained in my life, and going about the world as a nomad rather than a tourist. A way of life.

    I'm a reliable person with a lot of variety to my abilities and knowledge.

    I'm friendly and polite and detail oriented, serious by nature but easy to laugh. I'm vegan which means I'd need to be in a situation where vegan food is available or I can easy make my own food (home stays and such can be tricky, is all, as I don't want to be rude to anyone who may cook).

    I'm awesome with animals and heavy and exacting work, but am not good at heavily people-oriented things like language teaching, party leader or such.

    Customer service style jobs like front desk check-ins are fine; I just know that I am not the best bet for a pub crawl host, though as occasional helper or co-host on crawls, tours, and games I am handy to have.

    Manual labor, paperwork, cosmetology, drawing and other art forms, organization and tracking, doing laundry or painting walls... I’m not afraid to get dirty, and just open to most things to try and do and try to do well.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I'm an artist of a variety of sorts. In multiple mediums can draw, paint, sculpt, design, sew, cosmetology, and more. Body piercing and scalpel (temp and permanent) trained and experienced.

    Filing, tracking, organizing, scheduling, packing, et cetera of office work jobs.

    Fine with manual labor like carrying, basic carpentry, gardening, cleaning, digging, and all of that.

    Have raised and helped care for multiple types of pets and some farm animals. Especially care of elderly, sick, and/or disabled animals. I've had to care for animals that were old, had mobility issues, needed sub-cutaneous fluids and medications regularly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Age

    43

  • What else ...

    I like puzzles, board games (was just taught Terraforming Mars and it was great), logic problems, love to dance, travel with a stuffed animal given by loved ones, love the outdoors and nature in general, love cities and civilization just as much.

    I'm pretty geeky, serious, and introverted (not shy!).

    I love to read and usually have 2-3 books going at once.

    I'm a nomad now for over 3 years with a wish to explore life and the world in general.

    I try to do at least one truly new thing to me each year.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Naprosyn once gave a dangerous reaction.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am vegan. I've been so long enough that accidental eating of some animal products over the years has caused me to became extremely ill.

Feedback