Ruby

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Colombia, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/04/2021 - 16/12/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    *Update: Like most people Covid-19 has disrupted my 2020 travel plans and I had to return to the UK - but I plan on heading back to South America in 2022*

    Hello! I have just finished my job as assistant warden for 4 nature reserves in the UK working full time, to experience Central and South America in 2020 through volunteering. My job involved lots of practical work and machinery use including brushcutter, chainsaw and tractor work, plus lots of wildlife surveys (the best part!). I'm pretty flexible with the type of work I'll be doing, I just like to see new beautiful places with hopefully some interesting wildlife for me to spot (mostly birds)!

    I have travelled around Southern Africa for 7 months in 2015 doing volunteer work for most of that time, so I'm no stranger to volunteering abroad and found it's the best way to see and explore places.

    I am currently trying to learn some basic Spanish, but I'm very much in the early stages!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Team sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Machinery: brushcutter, chainsaw, tractor, 4x4 vehicles, trailer driving

    General practical skills e.g. woodwork, fencing...

    Basic computer skills: Microsoft office, social media, some experience with mapping systems

    Customer service skills: several jobs worked where I dealt with customers

    Some experience of marketing and working with children

    Volunteer management and recruitment

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback