Rosie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/11/2018 - 11/11/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am an Isle of Man born 26 year old conservationist, usually working as a community ranger for National parks in the UK- I feel extremely lucky to have found my calling in a job which combines my love of nature and of people!

    Coming from a beautiful but very small island, I imagine travelling was always going to be on my radar as I grew older, especially with my curiosity for meeting folk and challenging my own ideas and culture. I took a very sentimental trip to India in 2016 which was incredible, and after my older brother moved to Australia in 2017 I thought I'd embrace the itchy feet and follow him a year later. After catching up with him in Queensland I travelled around for a while in Victoria and Tasmania, doing a bit of city sightseeing but more workaway-ing in the countryside (much more my scene!). I learnt more than I could have hoped for about aboriginal culture, aussie biodiversity and farming/gardening under the pressures of climate change, all of which made for time well spent!

    Conservation is my career path, though farming always interested me as the daughter of a country vet, and gardening is fast becoming a hobby of mine. Perhaps one day I'll be lucky enough to buy into a co-op smallholding where I can practice wildlife-friendly land management and host wwoof and workaway myself. I've no doubt that all I'm learning from workaway will come in handy further down the line.

    I'm now in New Zealand with a 2 year work visa, and in between employment in the conservation sector I am seeking workaways as I travel, to keep learning about environmentally friendly ways of living and meet like-minded folk. I'm enjoying the feeling of living the life here rather than watching it go by as a tourist, and look forward to discovering what's out there! Thank you for reading my profile :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Animal husbandry (including livestock, domestic pets and wildlife rehabilitation), close-knit teamwork in rural areas, IT skills, practical skills such as strimming and fencing, habitat management, gardening, outdoor education (including forest school), wildlife surveying, arts and crafts, wine-making and fruit preserving.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I have 7 nieces and nephews back in the UK (!) so get along great with children, play the ukulele and paint in my spare time, and have a general love of the outdoors :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback