Rick

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/09/2020 - 15/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am an adventurous, positive, open minded and hard-working young man from the Netherlands. I just finished my bachelors degree in applied biology, and I would like to travel for 1 or 2 years before working on my professional career. I enjoy hiking, fitness, nature, football, photography, and I have a passion for learning about plants and ecology. At this moment I have plans to travel through Spain until December to explore this beautiful country and to learn the language. After this, I am planning to travel Latin America for the majority of 2021. My 'wanderlust' was triggered two years ago, when I had the amazing experience of traveling, living and working for a while in Tanzania in Africa. Since then I travelled the most of Europe, visited Morocco and did my graduation assignment in Costa Rica.

    I am very curious about ways of life that I do not know, which is the main reason for me for joining workaway. I find it amazing that it might be possible for me to live with the locals for a short while, and to share knowledge and views on life. I love new experiences and meeting new people from different cultures, as I've already learned so much from this in the past. I like to create, and to live a peaceful, healthy, and if possible, sustainable lifestyle. And of course, I love to have fun (but that probably goes for anybody) :).

    So this, and wanting to become fluent in Spanish, are the main reasons I joined workaway. If you have any questions, feel free to message me!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
  • More details about your skills

    I am physically quite strong, hard-working, precise, caring and trustworthy. I think am pretty good at problem solving, and I simply really enjoy building, repairing, fixing or creating things. I'm not scared of physical labour, as I like to feel proud, useful and a bit tired at the end of the day :). I also know a thing or two about nutrition and physical exercise!

    I'll try to summarize my assets a little bit, so you can get a better understanding of what my strengths are:
    - I have 'green fingers', as I've been very interested in (growing) plants since I was a little boy. Nowadays, I grow many different plant species at my parents house ranging from beautiful exotic flowers to carnivorous plants.
    - I love to be around animals, especially dogs. We have a Golden Retriever at home who I love to the moon and back. I also have some experience with other animals, and I am not quickly scared.
    - I always try to put at least pressure as possible on my environment. Therefore I prefer to live and travel sustainably by avoiding plastic, consuming less meat, using public transport and trying to educate myself.
    - I am very eager to become skilled in the Spanish language, so I will probably try to speak it as much as possible! According to me, this is by far the best way to expose myself to the amazing cultures that Spain and the many countries in Central- and Latin America have to offer.

    If you have any specific questions do not hesitate to ask me!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I grew up in the city of Zwolle in The Netherlands with my twin brothers, my parents and my dog Tjango. During my bachelors' degree I have had some amazing experiences abroad, and I want to travel and gain some life experience before continuing my education or pursuing a professional career.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prefer not to eat a lot of meat.

Photos

Feedback