Raphaël

From: Martinique

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, France, Iceland, Japan, Nepal ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/03/2017 - 12/03/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    154

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    ⚠️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️⚠️
    DEAR HOSTS,
    BEFORE READING MY PROFILE (AND CONTACTING ME), PLEASE NOTE:
    I am EXCLUSIVELY interested in projects or endeavors involving permaculture (especially food forests/forest gardening and urban permaculture), natural & regenerative farming, syntropic farming, agroforestry, reforestation & afforestation, guerilla gardening, herbal medicine, acupressure massage, tea cultivation & production, natural building, pottery, holistic practices and artistic activities, bushcraft, primitive skills, ancestral knowledge, ocean conservation or sailing – as I would like to learn and share more about these subjects. Thank you for your understanding.
    ⚠️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️⚠️

    ➡️ WHO AM I

    Hi, I'm Rafa! 👋

    I'm a 27-years-old green pirate from Martinique, a beautiful French island located in the Caribbean.
    I'm on a journey to reinvent my life and myself.

    I've been traveling and volunteering since April 2017 (mainly in Europe and Asia so far) as I'm driven by a desire to enrich my knowledge and get more inspiration about permaculture (I took a certified Permaculture Design Course in March 2018), natural farming, agroforestry, natural building and sustainable/regenerative ways of living among other things. The end goal would be to set up my own project back in Martinique while making a significant impact around my community and aiming for a simple life in harmony with Gaia.

    ➡️ MY INTERESTS

    I'm particularly interested in learning more about:
    – Permaculture, natural, regenerative and syntropic farming (+ ancillary activities like agroforestry, biodynamics, beekeeping, mushroom cultivation, herbal medicine, …)
    – Natural building (adobe, straw-bale, bamboo, stone, earthbag houses, domes, kerterre)
    – Environmental sustainability
    – Self-sufficiency
    – Alternative ways of living and consuming
    – Low-tech
    – Bushcraft, primitive skills & ancestral knowledge
    – Rewilding
    – Green activism
    – Holistic practices

    I cultivate other interests, specifically in the artistic/creative field such as:
    – Writing poetry: I created a literary project called "Le vagabond bleu" where I share haikus since January 2016. Feel free to check my work at www.levagabondbleu.fr if you're interested.
    – Playing music: I'm a happy owner of bamboo Native American flute that I love bringing to life when I play it. You can check my work at www.soundsofwaoma.com
    – Reading books: I usually read about many different subjects such as permaculture, philosophy, spirituality, psychology, ect. My Kindle is never far away.
    – Leading Gong fu cha (the Chinese art of serving tea) sharing/drinking sessions and formally informal ceremonies: I'm always eager to serve tea to friends and fellow human beings that I meet along the way. It's also a way for me to bring my mind to the present moment and put the others before myself while dissolving a bit of my ego in every cup that I serve. Feel free to follow my tea journey here: www.instagram.com/aboutleavesandclouds/

    I'm currently re-learning Spanish (and started to explore Mandarin) and practicing meditation (zuowang) + yoga (asana sequences) on a daily basis. These days, I'm also trying to learn acupressure massage, something that I would like to combine with traditional Caribbean herbal medicine in the future. Physical, mental and spiritual health is indeed an important part of my life. I try to eat local food as much as possible. I'm pescatarian (vegetarian eating fish), I don't smoke and I don't drink alcohol.

    ➡️ WHY I WANT TO TRAVEL AND WHERE

    My main goal at the moment is to learn more – through volunteering experiences, people, and places – about permaculture (and other related interests) in a theoretical and practical way as I envision to set up my own project back in Martinique. I took a certified PDC (Permaculture Design Course) and NBC (Natural Building Course) in Thailand in March 2018 as I wanted to enrich my knowledge.

    I try to cultivate a certain open-mindedness by staying a curious person since learning is a solid habit of mine, always looking for ways to improve myself, help others, and broaden my horizons every day. That's also why I want to travel in order to:
    – Experience new cultures, ways of life and points of view ;
    – Embrace uncharted waters ;
    – Meet and help all kinds of fellow living beings ;
    – Share and receive all kinds of knowledge (being like a sponge).

    Regarding my travel itinerary:
    So far, I already had the opportunity to volunteer in Europe (Sicily, Spain, Portugal) and to help within organic farms, permaculture projects, alternative communities and other environmental/social endeavors around Asia (Malaysia, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Myanmar, Taiwan, Hong Kong, South Korea). The next step would be to make my way to Hawaii, then South & Central America, Cuba, and the Dominican Republic. However, I give myself a margin of flexibility while embracing the uncertainty of the future.

    Most of my Workaway experiences have been positive so far and I hope that I could be useful to you and that you'll be willing to welcome me and count me as your friend.

    Looking forward to meeting you! 😉

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Permaculture, farming, natural building, arts (poetry, music, gong fu cha), general maintenance, online marketing, computer-related tasks

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    French

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (Pescatarian)

Photos

Feedback