Rachel

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, India, Sri Lanka, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/01/2021 - 21/03/2021

  • Badges


  • My status

    At home


    So many great places to choose from - I am open to them all. Not so sure what's next due to the travel situation at the moment, but planning an escape asap! Always keen to hear what 40+ age are up to.

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Dear Work Away Hosts,

    I worked for many years in corporate marketing based firstly in London, followed by 20 years in the Middle East and Africa.
    I am now semi retired, working occasionally as a freelance marketing content creator, dog sitting or helping with the family Bed and Breakfast - managing the guests, cleaning, cooking breakfast and generally taking care of visitors.

    The rest of the time I am free to follow my heart, which leads me to new people, places and experiences. I am currently writing a humorous memoir on my travels and the new experience of mid-life!

    When I am home in England I live on my gorgeous narrow boat on the river, enjoying time alone reading, writing and walking along the river, plus socialising with family, friends and my boat neighbours.

    I have a TEFL qualification and although I have never formally worked as a teacher, this is something I would like to practice in schools or helping the families, friends and local staff to practice their English conversation skills to become more fluent and confident.
    I can also help with ideas on marketing and promotion of your business to tourists, and am an experienced copy writer so can help you with your marketing content.

    I love music festivals, hiking and yoga, plus reading.
    I used to sail regularly and have just tried paddle boarding. I also enjoy trying new food and learning about growing vegetables - happy to help in the kitchen - one of my favourite things about travelling is staying in hostels and sharing stories with other travellers.

    I am an amateur Tarot healer and love the conversations and opportunities it creates, bringing confidence and clarity to people, empowering them to lead their best life.

    I am currently curating my second half of life and wish to fill it with travelling, meeting people and learning new things. Anything that offers an inspiring experience.

    My latest trips have been around Kerala, India; Oaxaca Mexico - learning Spanish - Cuba, Cambodia and Laos, Thailand. In October 2019 I was in Costa Rica for the baby turtle season and saw so many beautiful animals.

    I look forward to being invited to your home.
    Namaste
    Rachel :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Marketing, Teaching English, managing/cleaning hostel, tour guide/tourist support, clean driving licence

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    My children are grown up and I am enjoying travelling, meeting new people and cultures and experiencing mid life without a road map. I am currently writing my first creative nonfiction book.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Hazelnuts

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback