Patricia & Mike

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/09/2017 - 31/12/2017

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    We are an active couple who have many skills and interests between us. We’ve lived and worked in remote areas of Alaska for over 30 years while also traveling the US and to many places around the world. Over the years we have done a little bit of everything and continue to do so - in all kinds of weather, outdoors and indoors. We are involved with many social and environmental issues. We believe it’s important to give back and do what you can in your community as well as the larger world. We enjoy learning new things and experiencing new people and places.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching; Guiding; Boat operating; Painting interior & exterior; Gardening; Both drive manual transmission/gear vehicles (cars and small trucks); Operate hand & power tools; Art making - mosaics, painting, fused glass; General maintenance; Tourism organization; Environmental activism.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    67 & 72

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Patricia:
    I’m an artist who has worked in a variety of materials from photography to painting; metal to hot and warm glass. Currently I’m working in glass mosaics and painting. I have created public art pieces and taught classes. Living and working in a vast place like Alaska has broaden my horizons and provided me many opportunities for crazy adventures; all of which are great ingredients for making art. I also own a tourism business planning itineraries, traveling as a tour manager and working as a tour guide. I'm up for anything. I love challenges and learning new things. Doing a workaday experience seems like a great way to learn about a new place and its people.

    Mike:
    I’m a commercial salmon fisherman in Bristol Bay, Alaska. Every summer I fish for wild salmon here in Alaska. I’m passionate about protecting the eco system in our region. I enjoy hiking and kayaking. I first came to this remote area as a VISTA volunteer working in local Yupik Eskimo villages. I have mushed dogs, wrote stories from Iditarod trail, and taught economics and rural development for the University of Alaska. As a Professor Emeritus, I continue to work with students teaching short courses.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback