Charlotte & Tom

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Costa Rica

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/07/2018 - 01/01/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    545

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi, we're Charlotte and Tom, a couple from York in England. We've travelled a lot and spent time as workawayers in several countries all over the world. We love to meet new people and learn new skills while travelling, and we think that Workaway is the perfect way to do this!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We've done quite a few workaways before, having stayed with around 15 hosts so far. At these, we've done a variety of jobs from looking after farm animals, cooking, gardening, painting, maintaining websites and social media accounts, DIY, cleaning and looking after kids. We're both really sociable and love meeting new people from different cultures.

    Between us we've had jobs in many industries. We both have experience working in busy bars, restaurants and commercial kitchens.

    I (Charlotte) have spent five years working in marketing, communications and business development so I may be of help to businesses looking to capture more tourists or develop new marketing materials... Otherwise, I'm a good cook often cooking for 10+ and love gardening (I've got my own vegetable allotment).

    Tom has a Biology degree and used to work in a lab cultivating crops and investigating the effect of fertilisers on ecosystems. He has also worked in nutrition and now freelances full-time as a writer. He specialises in website and marketing copy, and can't wait to do some surfing in Costa Rica.

    We both enjoy being around animals and have experience caring for a variety of them. I used to have dogs, chickens, goats, sheep, donkeys and a horse, and during workaways we have looked after all sorts of farm animals. Tom's particularly good at milking goats and I'm a bit of a pro at catching chickens...

    We both enjoy cooking, and coming from a house of 7 people we're used to cooking for large numbers. We also love being outdoors, be that walking, exploring or gardening.

    Both of us have several young nieces and nephews so we're very used to and love spending time around children.

    Tom has experience helping to build/restore lots of things including fences and a barn with previous Workaway hosts, as well as spending part of his last trip to Australia working on farms.

    But mostly we both love to learn new skills, are quick to learn most things and can be trusted to use our own initiative.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    27 & 29

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We're currently learning basic Spanish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Planting 1,600 veggies
Loving food rescue
Making gnocci in Napoli
Helping run a food van at Splore Festival in New Zealand
Cooking for our workaway family
Veg patch complete with squash, okra, tomatoes, broccoli, onions and carrots
Charlotte making friends in Phuket
Perfecting the one-handed milking technique
Early morning olive harvesting in beautiful Greece
Tom working on a banana farm in Australia

Feedback