Nick

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Coimbra, Portugal - from May 2022 until Aug 2022
    View all
  • Description

    After years of traveling as a professional artist (check out my website, playpoi.com, to see my work), I have been learning carpentry and gardening by building things on Vancouver Isalnd, BC (you can see images of the cabin I built). This year I'm focussing on expanding the wildflower gardens! I'm also taking courses related to Communication and Ecology at Simon Fraser University.

    I'm interested in permaculture concepts. ! enjoy the process of working with available resources. Now that I'm gardening, I find that what interests me most is the soil and compost, the process of building the vibrant living bed on which the plants will grow.

    I spent several winters volunteering at a wildlife rescue centre in Costa Rica, where I got to build "enrichment" for the monkeys along with numerous other tasks. But everything has changed because of Covid.

    My other passions include paddle surfing, acro-yoga, partner "blues fusion" dancing, and occasionally playing guitar.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Art & design
    Writing
    Technology
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Art Projects
    Teaching
    General Maintenance
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I did stage building for a year in university, where I learned how to use tools safely. Last summer I built a small rustic cabin, miter saw table, bed frame, simple stage, and garden beds (all very "rustic!). This year I've been using the chainsaw lots to make firewood, plus various small building projects like making sawhorses.

    I'll take on any reasonable project, I'm pretty good at learning how to do things via google/YouTube, and you'll find me capable as an assistant/apprentice.

    I'm also skilled with photography, Lightroom and Photoshop, video shooting and editing, writing, and internet stuff. I'm also learning to use Sketchup (3D design software).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    48

  • What else ...

    I'm interested in permaculture because I care about all the innocent lifeforms trying to survive on our stressed planet, and I want to help make space for them. I also like the creative process of working with available resources. I've spent time pursuing Buddhism and yoga, yet I often don't fit in with new-age culture. I don't care so much about what people think. I care about how people treat other people and animals. I'm not that interested in talking about chakras. I admire kindness and sincerity.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I get hay fever in Eastern Canada, but not out west.

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback