Teresa

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Spain, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/02/2013 - 16/04/2017

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! I am a midlife, empty-nest professional full of adventure, creativity and compassion. I enjoy immersing myself in different cultures and reciprocating kindnesses as often as possible. My friends and acquaintances find me to be pleasant company, honest and uplifting. I have left my job, sold everything and I am presently researching/developing volunteer and paid work opportunities so I may remain abroad extensively.

    My hobbies and favorite past times include (just to name a few):
    -dancing Argentine Tango
    -hiking (I am a pilgrim of the Camino de Santiago)
    -rockwall climbing/newbie rock climber
    -cooking
    -traveling
    -learning new languages

    In addition to the WA experiences listed on my profile, I've also done exchange experiences:
    -Thailand (helping with dual cultural wedding, guest teaching English in rural schools) during February 2013/March 2014
    -Northern Ireland/Scotland (detailing a 42' cruiser and assisting with light crew assignments) for the month of July 2014
    -Moroccan Sahara (cultural exchange, teaching conversational English and association support for nomadic community) November/December 2014
    -Northern Ireland (historical home redecoration, garden arrangement, painting) May-July 2015
    -Midwest United States (daily living skills assistant, equine therapy stable hand, interior painting and wallpaper removal) September-November 2015
    *I can make available reference of my hosts upon request.

    Here's a link to a note I posted on FaceBook at the time I began my travels early 2014… hopefully you will find it to be a good insight of who I am and my intentions.
    https://www.facebook.com/notes/teresa-nelson-benson/thanks-for-asking/10151933049486559

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    Childcare
    Life skills assistant for people with disabilities
    Advocacy
    Event planning and execution
    Marketing/Promotions/Public Relations
    Household management (skills transferable for private homes and hospitality)
    Adult education/presentation and mentoring
    Light crew (motor cruisers)
    Travel
    Driving auto/bus (I have an international drivers license)
    Youth Camp counselor
    Argentine Tango dancer
    Animal/pet care (domestic pet care, stable help, shepherding)
    English conversation and grammar

  • Languages spoken

    English, some basic Spanish (just learning), some basic French (high school and one year of college level)

  • Age

    56

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    **I currently hold a residency visa for Spain, which allows for me to do extended stay WAs in Spain. And at this time however, I am I the USA keeping my eyes open for possible WAs here. (As of May 2018)

    The great thing about being a young 50-something WAer is that I offer such solid, varied experience to suit so many different opportunities.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Tess Camino de Santiago Spain 2012
Tess preparing banana leaves for Lunar New Year treat recipe Thailand 2013
Making almond butter WA experience at the Berber Cultural Center in Imintanout Morocco. May 2014
Tess in Valle de Abdalajis, Andalusia Spain with first time WAer, Brooks from Texas (Return visit June 2014)
In addition to my WA in Valle de Abdalajis, Spain, I had the great pleasure of immersion in the local community. I am pictured here as a side kick to the local shepherd… a new favorite job of mine. May 2014
Crewing aboard a 42ft cruiser, sailing the western isles of Scotland July 2014
Assimilating into my nomadic community Bouhjab, Morocco November 2014

Feedback