Madeleine & Sophie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2021 - 31/05/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are Maddie and Sophie! We are proud owners of our van Milk and are starting van life with our puppy Marty in the beginning of 2021. Some things about us: Maddie just finished school and Sophie is taking a break from her full-time role as a director at an environmental nonprofit. Sophie loves to cook and collage and Maddie is most happy when working outside, in a field, or making things with her hands. We both love hanging out with people we can learn from. Trying new things and being out of our comfort zone is one of the reasons we are starting this adventure. We are both passionate about sustainability and environmental issues, both of which Maddie studied at university and Sophie worked on in her job. Maddie is interested in gaining hands-on skills like carpentry and other handy skills, Sophie is down for anything. Maddie's life goal is to start a flower farm and event space where we can hold gatherings and host programs to benefit the community! Sophie's ambition is to represent a community through being a elected official...we know those futures are down the road from us so we want to have a good time in the meantime.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    My first job was teaching ski lessons to children at Sugarbowl Resort in Norden, CA. I love to teach and work with children.
    I have experience working at a flower farm, a small urban farm, and a fruit and veggie farm. At all of these farms I helped with planting, harvesting, and small projects including installing drip irrigation.
    I also have experience working with children in my mom's kindergarten classroom where many of the children were english learners.
    I studied Economics and Environmental Studies as well as Sustainability Studies at the University of California, Santa Cruz.
    I worked as a DJ at the college radio station, KZSC for 4 years and have experience with many genres of music.
    I am a fast learner with a lot of motivation to learn new things and gain skills.
    Sophie can make anything vegan - and taste good too!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    22 & 22

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback