Alex & Henryk

From: Germany & Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/04/2020 - 05/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello everyone! I'm Alex from Cologne - Germany.
    Currently I'm offering a helping hand to do spring typical work like gardening and general outdoor maintenance. So I end up moving around always looking for new opportunities to work in trade for being allowed to stay a while and explore during free time. For the time being I've only been able to roam around in the state NRW but I'd love to visit any place that these for now closed country borders allow.
    A while ago I finished a voluntary work year in a children's home organisation. There I was a caretaker in a freshly built home that still needed some polishing in some corners like paperhanging and painting the walls. Caretaking duties included assisting children with a troubled life through everyday world. After that I've been jobbing in gastronomy to get by but I'm getting pulled into the outdoors and a more conscious life again. I would love to learn about eco friendly agriculture and animal care at hand and become part of a little community.
    My backpack is always ready :)
    ------------------
    Hi I'm Henryk and I am from Germany. I am looking to experience life on farms, meeting new people and getting to know different cultures. I want to help out and hopefully find meaningful work that I continue to pursue afterwards.
    I grew up in three different countries (Germany, Austria, Switzerland) and have always enjoyed traveling as well as meeting new people. I like to spend my time with friends and family, exercising outside, hiking in nature or reading inside.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    During my time at the chilren's home I learned everything around structuring a household day in a way that no one falls behind and things get done. Doing homework with childrens of the ages 6-14 years old and shape everyday life according to their needs was the core of my work.
    Also at the beginning the building was just renovated. Floors and walls were plain concrete and we did what we could to transform it into a comfortable and engaging home for children. A lot of time was spent with going through donated books, clothes and furniture and give it new paint, laying floors and paint walls.
    At the theme park Phantasialand I prepared and sold sweet foods to the guests and worked long shifts. Cleaning my work place during work according to health regulations was routine.
    Through my life I have done all kinds of outdoor maintenance to earn some money on the side. Usually I did high pressure cleaning, lawn mowing, hedge trimming, building bed plots, replacing plants and bark mulch and sometimes renovate leaking shed roofs.
    -----------------------
    I try to help out others as much as I can and often fix things in and around the house. I have experience with some minor electronic repairs, painting walls, general maintenance and cleaning. I know how to use powertools like drills, saws, sanding machines or soldering irons. What I lack in experience I usually make up with creativity and learning quickly.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    23 & 24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback