Mike

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Facebook verified

Friends (3)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    looking for a place to call home for a long time, and put all of my hospitality passion/love into! volunteer/work
    I travel with a budget, not a time limit.

    My next destination:

    Mexico - from Jun 2021 until Dec 2024
    View all
  • Description

    Hello, my name is Mike! I am an experienced traveler and bring a lot of positive energy with me! I've worked for many years in many countries and have yet to find my future home.

    Previously I lived and worked in; ''Portugal, France, India, Australia, Vietnam and Cambodia'' for a total of 8 years. In each country I try to find work or volunteering jobs, preferably in hospitality/tourism.
    I fell in love with traveling, meeting people, learning about different cultures, nature and the sun a lot of years ago. Currently traveling to Mexico which I've felt drawn by for so long.. I am so happy I found out about Workaway, because it seems the most perfect way to get in contact with people across the world, experience local life and learn a lot of useful skills.
    I can't wait to meet you all!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Hostels/Management;
    I managed three hostels so far, in Portugal, India and Vietnam. This is one of my favorite jobs as I have great people skills and try to have everyone leave the door with a big smile and amazing memories. Also I have worked in multiple Hostels doing anything which was required of me (Cleaning/Taking care of guests/Administration/Bar/Cooking).

    Hospitality/ bar work;
    This is my biggest passion! I love to be able to give people absolutely anything their hearts desire, it brings me great joy to make other people happy and comfortable. I know a lot and am very passionate about beers. Also I make amazing burgers!!

    Helpful;
    Possibly the most important skill is that I love helping others, and learning new things while doing it. I like to see other people smile, and to see them happy. And I’ll do anything in my power to make them feel good.

    Tough work;
    I am a big tall Dutch guy, so any tough work I can pretty much do. Helping in gardens, building work and anything else which requires someone strong. Have some experience working with tools and carpeting.

    Public Relations;
    When I was living in Portugal I also worked for a pub, setting up and promoting live music. I really found out about my PR capabilities here. Other then this, in every hostel or bar I've worked I always naturally try to bring people together and organize events or general things to do.

    Computer stuff/Administration;
    I can get along with computers pretty well and know how to work with sheets (excel/google). I have also worked in game design, so I can work with 3dsMax and some other programs.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Any country I live in I want to learn its language. I'd really like to learn useful Spanish quickly as I'll be going to Mexico

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Netherlands

  • What else ...

    I bring positive energy and happiness wherever I go and try to bring people together. I am very trustworthy, responsible and loyal. Will give my all, all my heart/passion/love to a place when I work there.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.