Michael & Victoria

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/12/2017 - 01/06/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    247

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are an Irish couple and have been doing workaways in Galicia, Spain for over 3 years now.
    Our first Workayway was in Kilruddery House in Ireland in July 2017 where we enjoyed feeding pigs, geese and chickens aswell as mucking out their coops and collecting eggs for the farmers market.

    We also harvested edible flowers, fruits, vegetables and lettuces for the kitchen.
    Mike herded sheep frequently. There was a lot of weeding and planting seeds in the public (walled) garden every day. Mike helped set up the greenhouse to grow tomatoes.

    Our first Workaway in Spain was in O Grove in October 2017 in a music venue called Nautico.
    We enjoyed helping out in the bar, maintaining the grounds and preparing a local restaurant for its grand opening.

    We decided to move to Cotobade near Pontevedra to work on a typical Galician stone house that needed a lot of work. Mike power washed the entire exterior as it was black and dark green from years of Galician rain. Victoria weeded a massive garden and brought it back to life. The lawn was 4 foot high in places so Mike spent days strimming it, then two days of lawnmower to get it down to a normal level. We continued to maintain the gardens for months after.

    We also painted the interior of the house white using rollers with extensions, as there was some smoke damage. The ceilings were very high but it was worth the effort in the end.

    We then went to A Lama to do similar work but mainly landscaping. The property had 3 houses that were renovated using recycled items found around the place. We maintained the grounds there for 4 months and looked after the chickens and cats.

    We did a lot of tyding up there and stayed in a bus that was converted into a strawbale house. Mike turned a massive pile of stones and old wood into a nice walled seating area. It was an experience.

    Victoria has incorporated Spanish ingredients and styles to the recipes she already has and always looking to improve her cooking skills. Making fresh pizza, bread and cakes are a few of her new specialities.

    The local meat, fish and vegetables in Galicia are of great quality as well as affordable and although Irish food can be more expensive, there is more of a variety of imported goods to choose from. She is looking forward to bringing what she has learned from Spain back to Ireland and hoping to start a culinary career, as so far she is self taught and is now more than ever hungry to learn more from others :-)

    Victoria would like to learn more about planting from seed and seasonal growing.

    We are very hands on and open to learn anything new, especially if it is for everyone's benefit.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Wood Cutting
    Painting
    Cooking
    Food preparation
    Gardening
    Music
    Carpentry
    Building
    Sound Engineering
    Basic Electronics (Mike likes to repair his own Electronics)
    Mechanics
    Photography
    Video Editing
    Graphic Design
    Craft Design

  • Languages spoken

    English, very basic Spanish and Irish.

  • Age

    40 & 32

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • What else ...

    Victoria is enjoying using Galician ingredients in her cooking and is interested in learning new recipes, especially bread making and all kinds of baking.

    Victoria is also interested in animal massage and general grooming.

    We also have a power washer,

    Mike has an interest in mecahnics and basic electronics. Mike also works online trading for a few hours everyday. He is studying to be a Technical Analysist of the Financial Markets.

    We both enjoy photography.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback