Meredith

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Meredith and I love international travel, culture, language and knowing people from all over the world! I feel my best when I'm making a personal and positive difference in the lives of others. At university I studied neuroscience and psychology but after getting involved in lab research and working in healthcare I realized that medicine wasn't really what I pictured myself doing for years to come. I finished my degree, but afterwards did the cliche thing of buying a backpack and a one-way plane ticket to Europe, left the 3 jobs and life I was pressuring myself to live behind, and gave myself the chance to get in touch with the other, truer side of me (I told you it was cliche!). It didn't take long to realize that spending my time and energy on things I wanted to do well into the future/during retirement 50 years down the road were what I should be doing right now.
    I'm very personally invested in refugee welfare, I love learning about the Middle East and the beautiful cultures found there, I enjoy tourism/the travel industry in general and hospitality, I love coffee, and I'm developing my skills in photojournalism on the human condition.
    I enjoy being a hands-on, flexible, and laid-back yet hard worker, and my friends say I immerse well in different cultural settings.
    As an avid traveler and someone who loves having friends from all over the world, I find myself just as comfortable in environments where I'm unfamiliar with the language and culture as I do in my home country, and I see experiences like these as amazing opportunities to learn, grow, and bridge gaps in order to build understandings and genuine friendships. My whole family has always been really into traveling and we did a lot of it together while I was growing up. Now, I find it really hard to be just a tourist. Instead, I like to take the path less traveled, really immerse in where I am and who I'm with, and to be useful, giving back to the places I go and people I meet.
    The kinds of experiences I'm really looking for through WorkAway are those that lead me towards a deeper understanding of the hospitality sector of the travel industry in Europe, and coffee: from plantation to espresso in your cup. Would absolutely love to help out in a cafe! Even better, I can be the barista in your hotel's cafe :) But of course, I'm open to unexpected opportunities as well. Please feel free to reach out. I look forward to meeting you :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Practical knowledge of various Mid Eastern and Islamic cultures, some Arabic, writing, customer service, cafe barista, photography, horse care, guitar/voice, and I like to learn new skills!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Arabic: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    اهلاً وسهلاً :) اسمي ميريدث، أو مريم. انا من امريكا وانا بدي اتعلم اللغة العربي، اللهجة السورية مظبوط. كان عم بدرس من السنة الماضية، و حابب كمّل دراستي مع احد من الشام. فيني اساعدك مع انكليزي كمان :) شكراّ!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    I volunteered for 6 months with Middle Eastern refugees stuck in Serbia and BiH
    I love WorkAway because it lets me more easily travel with a purpose. I don't want to simply be a tourist. I like to have a job to do and a way to give back.
    I love film photography and taking candid/portrait shots
    I'm a coffee lover and especially enjoy Turkish and Arabic coffees. Someday when I'm ready to settle down somewhere I'll be opening my own specialty coffee cafe.
    I love to play acoustic guitar, ukulele, and sing as well. It's even better when other people join :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback