Melodi

  • Germany
  • Login to see last activity

Friends (8)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    About myself and my skills :
    Hello, my name is Melodi, I´m a 19 year old student from a small town in Germany next to Frankfurt am Main ( also known as “Mainhatten”). I am currently in Cape Town, South Africa.

    I love swimming, reading books, listening to music, dancing ( I used to dance HipHop and contemporary) and I have a passion for photography ( but I mostly work with older or even disposable cameras since I really love the vintage vibe that comes from these cameras ).
    I also do some cooking and backing and I enjoy trying new foods from different countries.

    As I mentioned before, I live in a small town where we have a lot of landscapes and forests. I always go for a walk whenever I feel stressed or I just need a break. I truly believe that nature is good for us and that exposure to nature is good for people’s health, well-being and happiness. My family in my home country also has a farm with many animals and a lot of different plants, which is why I had a close connection to nature and animals since my childhood. I really love to be in nature and to work practically . However, Frankfurt (one of Germany's largest, most famous and diverse cities) is only 20 minutes away from my small town, which is why I also appreciate living and studying in a big city with lots of different people and multiculturalism.


    I finished school in 2020 and since then I study computer science at university. Therefore, I have Knowledge of EPD ( Word, PP, Exel). Overall I have good computer skills and can generally deal well with computer and different programs.


    Why I want to join workaway ?
    Being a daughter of immigrant parents, I grew up speaking two different languages and experienced cultural variation which already made me appreciate cultural multiplicity at a very young age.

    I was already involved in volunteer work during my school years. My volunteer activities include my work in a refugee association as well as my cooperation in the socio-pedagogical homework help center for children with a migration background organized by the German Child Protection Association .These activities have not only helped me experience the variety of different cultural groups and expand my knowledge and perspectives on life, but also improved my tutoring skills in teaching. So over the years I have already gained some experience in teaching and as a tutor which is why I have good intercultural communication and understanding skills especially with new people from different backgrounds and countries.

    These voluntary activities allowed me to meet and especially to work with different people from all ages and cultural as well as social backgrounds. I have worked in a multicultural environment where I have been able to experience cultural diversity, learn about different ways of living, and most importantly appreciate the uniqueness of each culture. I truly believe that my voluntary work has enriched my life in the best possible way.
    The diversity I have experienced during my work allowed me to learn, accept and respect different beliefs, to experience and integrate with other cultures but also to introduce my culture to others which promotes mutual cultural understanding.
    So being exposed to diverse cultures has helped me to have a deeper understanding of other people and to see the world from their cultural point-of-view. This is exactly why I want to join workaway.
    I think one of the greatest things about being on earth is to meet and interact with new people from all around the world, to share ideas, stories and emotions, to exchange and experience different cultures and traditions and to come in contact with nature at different places.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Fitness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Videography
    Photography
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    LGBTQ
    Culture
    History

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Gardening

    Some knowledge of:  

    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Babysitting and creative play
  • More details about your skills

    - Childcare experience
    - taking care of pets
    - cooking/ backing skills
    - housekeeping
    ( helping around the hose with various chores, also house -sitting)
    - experience as a tutor and in teaching
    - Knowledge of EPD ( overall good computer skills )
    - art projects

    even if I have no experience in these areas, I am open for :
    - building projects
    - environmental + ecological projects
    - gardening

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    As I already explained before, I have gained some experience as a tutor and in teaching during my voluntary work. Therefore, I already have the necessary knowledge to teach others, especially in languages (German or English). I am also open to any language and would be very happy to learn new languages

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    Lastly I just want to say that I love travelling, learning new languages and making friends from all over the world , which is I want to go on adventures that help me grow out of my comfort zone. I consider myself to be communicative and open-minded, easily adaptable to foreign and unknown habitats. Furthermore, I would be very happy to find people I can support with my work because interpersonal relationships and sense of responsibility are very important to me.
    So I hope I´ll get to know you soon :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.