Mary

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Peru, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/08/2018 - 01/01/2023

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi There,
    My name is Mary and I’m 24 years old. I recently graduated from Berkeley, with a B.A. in English and minor in Theatre. I was born in China, grew up in Ontario, Canada, and later migrated to Los Angeles, California. I just started traveling in August of 2018.
    I love the city and the countryside equally and I love being stimulated by ever changing environments and people. I would describe myself as creative, authentic, empathetic, easily excitable, passionate, dedicated, and ambitious. I have a deep appreciation for the arts, and am also interested in music, plant-based nutrition, organic farming, gardening, taking care of children, horses, yoga, jewelry making, painting, and learning new languages!
    I am definitely a slow traveler and like spending longer stretches of time in each place to get a sense of its culture, energy, and people. I'm excited to meet you! :)
    On communication and respect: I know inviting strangers into your home can be weird, so I'm more than happy to do a video chat or answer additional questions to gauge whether I'd be a good fit. I love to meet people with as many different kinds of backgrounds, cultures, and perspectives as I can, and I consider myself pretty flexible in adapting to different environments. The only thing that I do not have tolerance for is rudeness or condescension in a working relationship. If conflict or disagreement ever arise, I think it's best to tackle it with empathy and conversation instead of aggression or pettiness.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Workaway Experience:
    I spent a month in Prince Edward Island at a backpackers' inn, where I cleaned rooms, made booking reservations, performed guest check-ins, and other office work.

    I am currently working for a family in Toronto. My duties include painting and weeding and house maintenance.

    Previous Job Experience:
    I have worked in publishing houses and at theater companies in editorial, fundraising, and marketing positions. I most recently was Assistant to the Executive Director at a small social justice non-profit, where I gained skills in computers, phones, reception, and event management.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    25

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm a bit sensitive to fragrance in soaps and dish detergents.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I prioritize eating clean (no processed/refined foods), but this is not a strict requirement.

Photos

Feedback