Grace

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/02/2019 - 01/10/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello,
    My name is Grace, I grew up on a homestead gardening, looking after chickens, bees, goats, and sheep. I was homeschooled until 16 when I started attending a local community college, I recently graduated with my AA at 18.
    I’ve grown up learning wilderness skills including hunting, fishing, tracking, birds/tree/plant ID, wild edible harvesting, survival skills, butchering both birds and mammals, and making leather and buckskin out of animal hides using natural methods.
    I volunteered at a wildlife rehabilitation for 3 years, learning how to give shots, assess wounded animals, helping to heal wounded animals, bottle feeding young animals, and prepping food/cleaning cages. I also went to a rehabilitation center in Costa Rica for a month, where I spent the entire time in the animal hospital, refining my animal medical abilities. Although I have never been formally trained with healing animals, I have learned a lot from my past work.
    I work with kids teaching them wilderness skills, playing games, and helping them find a love for the outdoors. I also help run adult programs that teach naturalist skills, Fire and shelter making, butchering, tracking, hide tanning, etc.
    Growing up on a homestead I developed a good work ethic, and a love for doing good physical work. If work needs to be done early in the morning, then I am more than happy to rise before the sun does. I am also willing and able to work in any weather conditions short of a full blizzard. I would say one of my best attributes for working is that I am a fast learner, and I know how to work independently without needing someone to watch over me. I also have the capability to be meticulous if a job requires it.
    Some of my passions and hobbies include painting, pottery, writing, studying mythology and folktales, and spending time in nature. The more nature you have around you to explore the happier I will be!
    I love trading stories and skills and meeting new people!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • What skills do you have?

    - Assessing animal wounds/injuries
    - Bandaging wounded animals/taking care of injured or sick animals
    - Giving shots (I’m best at giving shots to goats and raccoons, but I can probably give them easily enough to other animals as well)
    - Tracking
    - Plant/animal/bird ID (for New England species)
    - Making fires
    - Hide tanning
    - Butchering
    - Physical work
    - First Aid certified
    - Gardening (weeding, planting, organizing, harvesting etc.)
    - a little experience with carpentry

  • Languages spoken

    English and a little spanish

  • Age

    19

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Bees

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback