Madeleine

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, France, New Zealand, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/07/2019 - 09/09/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    778

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! I am a 23 year old Veterinary Science student looking for experiences over this upcoming Summer.
    As a vet, I love animals and have plenty of experiences from lambing, dairy farming, small animal work. These placements have typically been up to two weeks placements in the UK. I am really not afraid to get hands on and I never shy aware from the opportunity to improve my skills in any of these areas. If you would like to know specifics of the task I have been doing; please feel free to contact me.
    I have plenty of solo-traveling experience already under my belt. I have worked at US summer camps for 3 years in a row so this will be my first year straying from the ordinary. I love a challenge, something that couldn't have been tested more when I first arrived in the States aged 19 and had to teach myself Western riding in one week before the campers arrive. I absoloutely love summer camps and I truly am sad I shall not be going this year but... Life is all about new experiences and I would love to see a new place!
    As mentioned; I do love riding. I began when I was four (which I am not really sure if that counts but there is visual evidence!) and I have owned and cared for my own pony since I was 9, and I am still looking after her today! I was able to refine my skills as a teacher at the US summer camps. While there I taught basic Western riding to both boys and girls aged 7-16 years old. I say western, it was probably some hybrid I made up. No matter, I really had the most greatest time; we rode in lakes, I lead trails through the woods, we had cook outs, it was pretty much the best thing ever.
    I have worked in small teams, my first camp was approximately 6 staff, and large teams, my second camp being over 80 staff. I pride myself on being enthuisastic, cheery and being an active part of the community.
    But yes, please do get in contact if you have any further questions. I can provide references upon request.
    Hopefully be seeing you soon!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    Veterinary- I am a second year Veterinary Science student at the University of Bristol. I have gained multiple experiences prior and during my course in both dairy, sheep and small animal practices.While on these placments I have helped with hands on lambing, milking, worming, dehorning, castrating, drug administration....

    Riding- I have for the past three years been working at Summer Camps in the US in Minnesota and Idado, While there I have taught Wetern riding to children, both boys and girls, between 7-16 years old. I teach lessons in the basics until we're comfortable in taking the campers on group treks. I have taught both assisted and unassisted.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      None

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Feedback