Scheduled messaging update :) The messaging system will be offline for a maximum of about 15 minutes at 14:30 h CET / 20:30 h HKT (current server time: 14:48 CET). Thanks for your patience.   close ×

Maddie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 31/07/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home


    I submit my PhD at the end of January 2022 and I am looking for an experience that allows me to connect to nature and learn new things.

  • Description

    Bonjour! I am a PhD candidate, formerly studying and living in beautiful Edinburgh, currently in London. Previous to moving to Edinburgh I was living in Ireland for a few years as well. I'm planning on being back in Canada in the new year and will be submitting my thesis at the end of January. I'm eager for an adventure and opportunity to explore and learn. Aside from the constant reading and writing involved in my studies, I like to live an active lifestyle and enjoy art (particularly writing and poetry). I'm a dedicated life long learner. I love to be challenged and certainly do not shy away from hard work.

    ** I am also open to paying rent for a private space conducive to writing/working somewhere peaceful. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have a potential option for this! **

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Pets
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My biggest assets for work exchange are animal and child care- both of which have always come naturally to me, being the eldest of three children and having many pets at home. I also have experience teaching at the university level and am a patient language conversationalist (would absolutely love the opportunity to learn additional languages myself). In addition, I'm physically fit and love to be outdoors, would be keen to develop gardening skills further. I developed much better cooking skills over the pandemic (vegetarian & vegan). Basic labour, painting/putting together furniture/cleaning etc. all very comfortable for me.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback