Loukia

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Italy, Jordan, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 30/06/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    578

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello there, my name is Loukia. I was born and raised in Cyprus Limassol but I have been in Scotland for the past six years, I am based in the quirky coastal city of Dundee where I am studying Forensic Anthropology.
    However, I am currently taking a year out between my second and third year to focus on the simpler things, to remind myself of my values and to clear my mind before returning to my studies in September 2020.

    I found out about workaway through friends when I was volunteering in rural Nicaragua with a sustainable development charity in early 2017. We directly focused on water sanitation and hygiene in a small rural community. We also started vegetable gardens and a tree nursery. I love working with my hands, being part of nature and working with others. Naturally I caught the travel bug while I was away and now I can't wait to go somewhere else new; to take in a new culture, exchange different experiences, to develop skills and gain new ones. I am really motivated, open minded and eager to learn about anything new.

    I had my first workaway experience in 2017 and I fell in love with the idea of exchanging experience, culture and skills rather than materials or money, It's far more rewarding and valuable. I am fortunate enough to have the time now to return to workaway immerse myself back into it and to meet some incredible people in the process.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • What skills do you have?

    I have experience working with people from all walks of life in both a voluntary and work place environment. I have worked in hospitality bartending/ waitressing in craft whisky and beer bars, aswell as being a dish-washer. I have also worked in front of house positions for a glamping company and been part of the build and break crew during the summer for festivals across the UK. I work hard but I think it's important to have a little fun in whatever you're doing. I love to cook, I make and prepare all of my meals from scratch both vegan and vegetarian dishes inspired by whatever is available.

  • Languages spoken

    English and Greek

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Scottish Cypriot

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback