Louisa & Zach

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/10/2017 - 01/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    AT A GLANCE: Teaching English as a Foreign Language, Horse Training, Animal Care, Outdoors/Hiking and Backcountry Backpacking, Hospitality/Hostel Work, Being Friendly in English

    Some Experience: Building/Construction (Bamboo), Gardening/Farm Work, Painting, Being Friendly in Spanish

    We met in Switzerland, reunited in Thailand, and have been traveling and working together since 2015. We started our trip through Latin America in Mexico City in October 2017, and are meandering our way south; exploring, meeting new people, trying new things, and making our way to the top of every mountain and volcano we find :) As a couple we are usually described as chill, outgoing, and adventurous. One day we hope to find the perfect spot to open a hostel of our own. We are aways looking for language exchanges to improve our Spanish and hands-on learning about construction or sustainable farming!

    Introductions:

    Hi I'm Louisa! I grew up basically free-roaming in the mountains outside Seattle. I've always had love for nature and a curiosity for the world around me which has led me to live in 8 different states all over the US (mostly working with horses) since I graduated high school, and to travel abroad in between jobs. I have since retired from the horse world to travel the world with Zach. Apart from my Eventing career, I also trained/cared for dogs as I was putting my self through college and trained my own Retriever through the levels of Obidience, Rally, and Agility. I play instruments and love music, and more recently picked up a passion for plants/gardening. Since traveling I've become quite a good cook and I am handy as ever. I've found I have a knack with knots and "jerry rigging" which has proven infinitely useful.

    Hey, I'm Zach! After graduating with an Environmental degree focused on Fisheries and Wildlife I decided to start traveling, which is how I met Louisa. I taught English in Seville, Spain from 2015-2016 and have continued to travel with her ever since. At 6'3" I am the perfect height for grabbing those perfect avocados that are usually just out of reach. I enjoy all kinds of manual labor and working outoors, and prefer picking up/setting down heavy things for work rather than paying for a gym membership. I have a lot of interest in learning building/constuction and the particulars of running a successful hostel full of happy travelers and good vibes!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    • Sharing a single dorm bed

    • Hosting/Hospitality
    - We've had the pleasure of hosting many travelers through CouchSurfing. Read our references to hear about their experiences with us in the links provided below!
    - The last three summers we've worked in the restaurant side of the hospitality business in upscale resorts on the West Coast of the US.
    - Worked at multiple Hostels and BnBs through Colombia.

    • Bamboo Construction
    - From a previous workaway we learned about building chairs, bunkbeds, and structures, shaping the the bamboo and using power tools.

    • Cooking
    - Louisa's speciality is making something from nothing. Zach's specialty is chopping vegetables.

    • Cleaning/Organization

    • Zach's English Teaching
    - Teaching English as a Foreign Language at IES Al Iscar in Seville, Spain 2015-2016.
    - Also taught private English lessons to both adults and children.

    • Louisa's Eventing Career:
    - I've worked at upper level barns up and down the East Coast of the US, as a rider, manager, and trainer. I spent a year working at Overlook farm for 4*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ rider Sara Kozumplik Murphy and her husband Grand Prix Show Jumper Brian Murphy, which is where I met upper-level rider Madison Foote, whom I then went on to open a farm with in Michigan. After that I also worked for Olympian Jane Sleeper in Pennsylvania and managed her winter farm operations in South Carolina.
    - Experience breaking young horses and retraining OTTBs.
    - Adept in day-to-day farm operations,
    - Experience starting a barn from the ground up.
    - I enjoy teaching both horses and riders!

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic Spanish

  • Age

    25 & 26

  • What else ...

    Couchsurfing Profiles:
    www.couchsurfing.com/louisa-richards
    www.couchsurfing.com/zach.smith.1

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8ThnmDhliqBUmv6U2Rj2Og

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback