Lisa & Mark

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Malaysia, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 01/10/2022

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    We are a couple on a new life of travel and adventure, with the mantra of 'live low and slow' at the heart. Meaning we are not in any particular rush and are looking for projects to become part of that journey and feel a sense of achievement whilst travelling.
    We started in India in September 2017 with no real end point or further plans. Workaway's seem to be the ideal opportunity to meet new people, become entrenched in local communities and help to support or progress specific projects.
    Our interests are varied, and we are both happy and laid back, non-dramatic individuals with a sense of life excitement. Our age does add a level of maturity and experience to what we can offer hosts and we look forward to spending time with new people and learning ourselves. As a couple we are supportive without being overbearing and we laugh a huge amount.
    Lisa: tend to describe myself as a feint hearted feminist with hippy overtones. I can be practical and spiritual and would look at projects that would benefit from either of these areas. I enjoy socialising and have a real adventurous streak, I tend to say 'Yes' a lot more than 'No'. I like to find solutions to projects or tasks and get stuck in and I do often think outside of the box. Some of my ideas are great others are just wacky. Mark has done a few 'eye rolls' when I've come up with a new plan!
    Mark: I am a calm, happy person who enjoys life and gets on with most people, whatever age or background. I have a positive attitude, great communication skills and a lively personality which I bring to any environment. I enjoy practical work, take pleasure in doing a job well and am always happy to go the extra mile. Have been a successful workawayer in Italy prior to couple profile.
    We've listed categories of where we believe we can make a difference, and we'd be happy to try out new things too. So if it's not listed don't discount us - come have a chat!
    When in India we completed a workaway in Goa at a hostel, a guest house in Jaisalmer which included restaurant service and computers, Kerala which was more extended house sitting really, and in Malaysia a boat restoration project.
    Update January 2020 : We are currently back in the UK as we needed to sort out some family and property matters. Since being here we've enjoyed a 6 month workaway in Somerset and then we went to help out for a month in Cornwall. We are now in Devon and planning our next adventures!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Mark's skills:
    Business management
    Renewable energy
    Property maintenance
    Plumbing
    I.T Tutor
    Computers and Internet
    Boat handling
    Sailing
    Catering

    Lisa's skills:
    Event planning & management
    Volunteer management
    Office & IT skills
    Presentations
    Customer service
    Positive influencer
    Training
    Property maintenance
    Painting & decorating
    Hand crafted furniture maker
    Parenting
    Photography

  • Languages spoken

    We are both fluent and have a great command of the English language

  • Age

    57 & 63

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Mark & Lisa 2017
Lisa & Mark 2016 Birthday meal celebration :)
We decided to make life an adventure!
White water rafting - Nepal 2014
Festival fun - Beautiful Days 2016
At the helm volunteering with the Disabled Sailing Association.
Volunteering for the Disabled Sailing Association in Devon, UK
Scuba diving in Goa
Night out in Anjuna, Goa, India
New Years Eve in Jaipur with Ranjeet, our first ever Couchsurfing experience.
Waiting for the local bus in Kerala
Heavy duty grass mowing!
Hedge trimming

Feedback