Lira

From: India

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/10/2019 - 16/12/2019


  • Description

    Hello reader, I'm Lira, 21 years old, born and raised in the beachy beautiful little town of Goa, India. I started my travel journey when I turned 18 and have tried to keep up with my adventurous spirit ever since. I am deeply passionate about helping causes especially those to do with animals. I have an artsy eye and love taking pictures too and try my hand at art whenever I can although my dream was to be a singer or a pilot when I was little. I have 2+ and a half year experience working behind the scenes in the event industry (I am used to loud music playing 24/7) and 2+ years working with and around animals. I would like to believe that I am extremely curious about the world and have an itch to learn new things as i pass through my phases of life. Over the time I've taught myself to play the guitar, cook, photography (I also studied as a photojournalist) paint, and open bottle caps without any help. I find myself at my calmest when I am around art, music, the ocean, nature and life, I think of myself as a nurturing & funny person, for me a persons personality is what matters the most as I am highly intuitive and an empath so being around like minded people is important. Creativity is an important part of what makes me, me. I am always ready to learn and like to look at life as an adventure and lesson. I have always been an outdoorsy girl, being raised on the coastal region of Goa has been a major part of this, I've lived in villages, cities, in huts next to the ocean, in tents, in caves (Himachal), easy to say I adjust quickly & I won't fuss over getting my hands dirty :) I am fun to work with, a good listener and communicator, open minded, independent, kind and fun and understand the need for silence. I work very hard when I am passionate about something. I have good communication skills, online skills and guest handling as well. My mission with Workaway is to keep moving forward, learning, being a part of new communities, helping, sharing my journey and accepting new parts of myself along the way.

    I'm happy to answer any questions regarding new workaways in Indonesia (Bali, Oct/Nov 2019) Thailand (Bangkok & Koh Chang, Oct), Cambodia (already committed but open to meet people along the way) & India (all regions from 2020 onwards). Feel free to get in touch with me if you're looking for assistance. I'm also fine with assisting as a volunteer if space for accomodation isn't available.

    Happy journey ahead & please get in touch if my profile fits your needs.

    Namaste!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Manual Labour: Photography, Pet-sitting, Painting, Waitressing, Cooking, Content writing, Online help, Social Media etc...

    Non manual: A good listener/Adviser, Communication, Leadership, Coordinating, Reliable, Honest, Hardworking, Emphatic, Patient, Good with Kids/People/Animals, fast learner,...

  • Languages spoken

    English, Konkani, Hindi & am currently learning Portuguese.

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Indian

  • What else ...

    I speak fluent English but would also love to learn more Portuguese and other local languages.
    I know beginner level yoga and am still practicing it.
    I love astrology and tarot reading. I hope to meet someone who can help me further in this field.
    I love animals and being around them. ( Ive worked with numerous organisations over the years (and I love it) which means I won't complain if you ask me to clean up poop)
    I am funny, can play guitar, sing and would be happy to provide you with entertainment.
    I am also strong willed and assertive when I need to be.
    Although I have no certified teaching experience, I've volunteered at small NGO's helping kids learn art & English.
    I can cook a variety of foods, although my vegetarian, vegan and pan asian dishes are the best. Ask me to make Indian/Goan curry for you if you've never tried it. (most of my dishes are self invented so be brave with me!)
    I am an active girl.
    My first job was when I was 16 years old and will be unemployed for the first time in 5 years from October onwards to pursue my backpacking journey through south east Asia. (wish me luck)
    I'm a hard worker but find I ways to make my work environment less formal and more relaxed.
    I can't ride a bike yet but if you need me to go on grocery runs for you, I'd be more than happy to jump onto a cycle and paddle my way to the nearest store.
    I met one of my dearest best friends through my first Workaway experience. :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Slightly allergic to walnuts and dairy.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but I prefer eating a pescatarian diet. I am open to adjusting and not at all fussy if options aren't available.

Photos

Feedback