Lidia

  • Spain
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hola :)

    I am Lidia, born in a town called Ourense, part of Galicia, a beautiful region in the North West of Spain, where you can find loads of water streams & unspoilt nature spots, although I am based in the vibrant city of Bristol in the UK where I have lived for more than 3 years now. I grew up helping my granny to feed the chickens and rabbits, eating the veggies & fruits that my dad grows; I feel blessed & grateful for this! Slow pace was definitely part of my upbringing and the value for good food & wine - when allowed to drink it :)

    If music is on... I cannot help but dancing along! Any music style really, although I must confess that salsa and African rhythms would win the battle! They have been really present in my life for the last couple of years, not only for how they make me feel but also for the social aspects involved.

    I love traveling, discovering new places but also enjoying the local green spots, where I can get immersed for hours. I consider myself a calm but active person at the same time. I enjoy very much interacting with people, chatting away, sharing food & learning from them and their experiences but I also value a lot my me time & the relationship with myself. I like to find a balance between the two.

    I am passionate about sustainable living although the more I think about it, the more I believe I should say just a slower pace life, in tune with nature and the lunar cycles.

    Meditation, reading, low waste, drinking hierba mate & mindful cooking are just some of the things that are part of my daily life, which I like to incorporate in my travels as much as I can.

    I am not fuss about getting my hands dirty and always keen on learning new things. I have recently got more interested in permaculture and I am really interested in expanding my knowledge on this. My dad has been an inspiration in this matter, his tomatoes are the best ones: I eat them as if they were juicy apples!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I am interested in a wide variety of topics & activities, which probably means I am not an expert on any of them 😊 such as dancing, foraging, permaculture, climbing, reading, nature, animals, fermenting, meditation, yoga, hiking, wild swimming, low waste, minimalism, lunar cycles, emotions, gut healing & hormones, dreams, moon-sunsets-forests, wild camping, coffee, yerba mate, food!

    From some previous working experience & running my own business – a zero waste shop – I have gathered some skills that may be of some help, such as painting walls, screwing, sanding, computer troubleshooting, website design, social media, excel, visual merchandising, etc.

    I am hands on person & really comfortable with getting my hands dirty – after carrying 25KG sacks of chickpeas up and down for 3 years I am not scared of anything really 😉

    I love cooking simply and with love, I try not to complicate myself very much but I do enjoy making food from scratch, specially if it´s to share! I also like baking & my obsession is banana bread, I have a base recipe I have polished but I think I have tried all the possible mixtures that some to mind! I eat vegan but I respect everyone´s choice in this sense and way of living. I also make my own deodorant, toothpaste, cleaning products, etc. very DIY in this sense.

    I speak English, Spanish, Galician at a good level, which I am happy to teach or do any kind of language exchange. I do know some German & Portuguese, but I am a bit rusty on those, happy to give it a go though!

    Dancing makes me on of the happiest person on Earth – I love African & salsa dancing. I have recently discovered circular dancing & there is something special about it I enjoy very much. Mixture of traditional rhythms, dancing, singing & connection with people that has a healing aspect to me.

    I have volunteered with homeless people, tree planting charities, animal sanctuaries & more recently in a local permaculture farm.

    I consider myself a low impact individual, trying my best in having a lifestyle that goes in tune with nature & respectful with all living beings.

    I am keen on learning new skills & not afraid of trying things. I really want to discover more about permaculture at a practical level as it really resonates with me and a lot of aspects of my life.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Galician: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I don´t have much experience teaching languages but I would be happy to do so - I have informally taught Spanish to a lady in the past and participated in language exchanges.I would be happy to do something similar or just chat away :)

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    36

  • What else ...

    I forgot to mention I like cycling to move around.

    I also enjoy a good cuppa round the fire or a good film over pop corn, may be a cliche but just simple things that make me happy :)

    I like writing, maybe more journaling in a way, just putting my thoughts out every now and then.

    I have sown herbs and veggies in pots, I am not an expert but I am enjoying it very much and thing seem to be coming out!

    And I can´t belive I haven´t mentioned wine! I definitely enjoy a glass of red with a nice meal or while cooking, I can´t deny my Spanish origins here ;) and I love pizza!

    While in a group of people I enjoy playing any games, just to have some fun! Such as rounders, mimics, volleyball, basketball, pictionary, tabu, risk, katan, cards, etc.

    And I love being in all kinds of water!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat vegan

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback