Leteo

  • Spain
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer

Friends (3)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Verbania, Italy - from Apr 2022 until Dec 2022
    View all
  • Description

    I am in Italy at the moment!

    Hi! I am Leteo, a 35 years old kid :D who was born in Spain and lived most of his adult life abroad.

    I am fascinated by the world around me, by Nature, the people that live in it and spirituality. I love going out to the world and discovering places, testing myself through new experiences and learning new things. It is all about exploring! I travel the world to explore places and people, and it's thanks to meditation that I feel closer to myself and can explore my mind.

    I have traveled extensively on foot —30+ days routes, sleeping under the stars!— And also by bike —bikepacking from North Scotland to Spain, all throughout Europe and from Barcelon a to Northern Italy over the Alps (well, I had to turn back when the snow was over a meter and a half deep!). I also traveled around India and some countries in Europe, sleeping rough sometimes and hitchhiking when needed. I guess that, sometimes, if you want to see the butterflies, you "will have to endure the presence of a few caterpillars", right?

    I volunteered in dog shelters over the years in Spain, helped building an eco-village to support local Mayan families in Mexico, volunteered in a wildlife Sanctuary with monkeys in Costa Rica and worked in care homes, helping people with dementia, in Scotland. My aim is to give a helping hand and learn more about how things work in the world and the reality of others. There's a world inside every culture, every person, every habitat. The more I know about the world and the people and animals in it, the more curious about it I become.

    For my volunteering, I think it is important to focus on rebuilding the connections between humans and nature, as well as the connections between people. In our busy lives, it's easy to forget about the real price of things, how much they cost to the planet, how much resources are used to create something that we don't really need. There's still so much I hope to learn from the natural world, so much beauty to discover, so much we all can do to help undo damages done to the planet.

    I know that by helping others I am also helping myself and those I helped in the past will, in the future, help themselves by helping others... and so, this beautiful wheel spins.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    For two years, I volunteered at several dog shelters in Spain, cleaning and feeding stray dogs (and some cats), also taking them to the vet and helping find homes for them. I volunteered for several months (6 days a week, 8 hours a day) in a Wildlife sanctuary in Costa Rica, taking care of monkeys and raccoons. The work included food preparation, feeding the animals, giving them medicines, rescuing injured wild animals, building habitats, and creating toys for the animals.

    I have traveled solo, both on foot and by bike, for thousands and thousands of miles, and tho I am far from being an expert, I do have some skills, resolve and endurance to go through hard work and long journeys, both solo and with other people.

    In the past, I worked in care homes in northern Scotland, supporting elderly people through their daily lives, as well as caring for people with mental illness and dementia.

    I volunteered for 2 months and am currently volunteering again (will be for the next 10 months) in a Buddhist retreat center in Italy, where I do all kinds of work: from building, to woodwork, wood chopping, gardening, cleaning... I'm not afraid of tackling the unknown :D

    During my time in Mexico, I helped building an ECO-Village, building palapas, gardens to grow vegetables, planting trees, and working in the general maintenance of buildings and gardens.

    I have some experience with photography and video editing software, so I can help with documenting projects and advertisement.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would love to learn more! And I'd love to teach Spanish and maybe English too!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    35

  • What else ...

    I have begun a new chapter: going back to the essential. Finding my spirituality and casting aside the material world: working in an office, caring only for myself, my bank account, and having the newest gadget.



    I am in love with my life as curious traveler. Curiosity is what pushes me out into the world, giving me a hunger for knowledge and wonder. I have traveled to Morocco, India, Mexico, Italy, France, Netherlands, Belgium, England, USA and Costa Rica and have lived in Germany, Scotland and Spain. I can't imagine living my whole life in only one place. The world is full of an infinite number of beautiful places and interesting people.

    Being alive is such a magical gift and our time here is so limited!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback