Leslie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Morocco

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2017 - 31/10/2017

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am very reliable and responsible but also a lot of fun. I have a big heart and a great sense of humor. I enjoy being busy and contributing to a worthwhile project. I love life and good people. Traveling and meeting people is what feeds me.

    I love learning new things and new cultures. Our family has hosted 12 high school foreign exchange students over the years. I also volunteered as a local coordinator for a foreign exchange company for many years.

    I have been married for 35 years. We have 3 grown children and 2 of the most amazing grandchildren. I LOVE spending time and playing with them. My husband does not enjoy international travel as much as I do, so I get some "me" time when I travel. Traveling alone definitely expands my horizons and helps me meet amazing people. I have made many friends all over the world.

    I have traveled a fair amount, including Paris, Amsterdam, Athens, Santorini, Greece, Innsbruck, Austria, Edinburgh, Scotland, Utila, Honduras. As well as traveling around to many areas in Italy, Germany, Spain, England, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Colombia, Peru, the USA, Canada & Mexico.

    I have a university degree in Pubic Relations. I have worked in PR, marketing, advertising, sales and customer service for over 30 years in various industries including high tech, home builder and commercial seed industry. I have also worked in the retail and restaurant industries.

    I have volunteered a lot over the years in the USA cleaning creeks and beaches, cleaning graffiti, mentoring at children's art programs, serving at food banks and soup kitchens for low income and homeless families. I have volunteered at the Gilroy Garlic Festival for over 25 years in various capacities; four of those years as a committee chair person for the Arts & Crafts Committee.

    2013 & 2014 - volunteered in Guatemala working with children, building homes and at an organic farm. 2014 on the island of Utila, Honduras, I volunteered at an iguana research station as well as assisted with endangered turtle rescue efforts on the island. 2015 - volunteer work exchange at a boutique eco lodge on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala for 2 months. 2016 - 2 month work exchange at an eco lodge, "The Earth Lodge", Antigua Guatemala. 2017 - 1 month work exchange at "La Tortilla" Cooking School in Guatemala.

    2014 I started meditation and studying the teachings of yoga.
    2014 I became a certified PADI SCUBA diver
    2011 I started learning Spanish.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening - grew up gardening & have recently volunteered at an organic farm in Guatemala
    Business - writing, computer skills, multitasking, logical thinker, fast learner
    Home - Cooking/cleaning/Sewing/knitting - I have been sewing since I was 12 years old.
    Language - Native English speaker - intermediate level Spanish speaker
    Artistic - Mosaic and paper mache art works
    Sport - Certified SCUBA diver

  • Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I am always interested in a new adventure. I am in good health, physically and mentally. I love animals. I grew up in a large family in the countryside in Northern California surrounded by the beautiful Redwood trees and the Pacific Ocean.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

With a new little friend on a swinging bridge in Colombia. June 2015
Semana Santa (Easter Week) in Antigua, Guatemala
Agua Volcano in Antigua, Guatemala. One of my favorite cities.
Climbed Pacaya Volcano in Guatemala for the 2nd time. 2014
At Yosemite National Park with my son and husband.
Meeting Brandon, the child we sponsor in Guatemala.
At the Garden of the Gods State Park in Colorado Springs, Colorado.
Motorcycle trip from Colorado to California.
Feeding monkeys in Nicaragua.
A selfie by the waterfront in Habana, Cuba.

Feedback