Laura

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, St. Helena, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2018 - 31/12/2019

  • Badges


  • Description

    Hello world :)
    My name is Laura and I'm looking forward to meet new people, cultures & countries! Right now I'm working and travelling around the world since June 2018.

    After my graduation from High school I was living in Italy for half a year as an Au-Pair. Afterwards I've started studying International Social Work which consisted a Theory semester in Belgium, an Intensive Program in Finland and a Practical semester in Austria for me. Due to the circumstance that I love travelling, I’ve also spent some time in South Africa in 2014. In summer 2016 I've finished my Master at university and started working at a youth welfare center.
    But in June 2018 it was time to make my dream come true and see more of the world. Therefor I was mixing volunteering with travelling. I've started in Portugal, going on to the Canarian Islands, the Azores & Malta. In these months I was working at guesthouses, a hostel, two Hotels as well as a farm and I loved it!

    As you can see I am an adventurous, open-minded and outgoing person, who loves to challenge herself with starting a new life abroad. Moreover, I would describe myself as flexible, uncomplicated, spontaneous and warm-hearted.
    In my free time, I enjoy doing a lot of sports such as cycling, running and hiking. Besides I like snowboarding and I’m a really passionated dancer. Other hobbies of mine are singing and playing the piano. To sum everything up I love to be active and outside with a bit of music :)
    When you ask others about me, they would tell you that I’m a very positive person, always trying to find the best solution for all. Some of them even call me „Laughing Laui“, because I make others smile a lot.

    With workaway I want to take the opportunity to live and work in different parts of the world, to improve my skills and to open up some new ways of living, maybe even change my philosophy of life. I am looking forward to meet locals and to get in contact with a new part of the world, I have never seen before.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My study already told you that I am used to work kids & teens as well as I like to do community work. I have numerous experiences in social work, e.g. I was working with delinquent teenagers, elderlies and young kids in day care facilities. Furthermore, I have done some internships for example in a family & integration house, in a home for handicapped, a childrens hospital and a migration office. In my youth, I’ve been a leader of a parish youth group and was helping at holiday programs for kids in summer. Beyond, beside my study, I was constantly working at a Research Institution for Social Work and being employed at a child and youth service.

    Other jobs I have done for gaining some money for my time at university are working at a post office, at a company and doing some babysitting.

    As I am a social worker I’m really looking forward to take a volunteering work which has something in common with my education, but I’m also open for new experiences and workfields.

  • Languages spoken

    German (mothertongue) , English (fluently), French (learned it for years in school), Italian (good knowledge), Spanish (beginner)

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    Can't wait to meet you :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Photos

Feedback