Lani

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2019 - 04/07/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi! I'm a cheerful, organized, down-to-earth, patient, and hard-working woman from California, taking a year off between jobs to fulfill a lifelong dream of traveling around the world. During this trip, my most meaningful experiences have been the interactions I've had with people I've met along the way. So that's why I'm on workaway -- to add some structure and purpose to my travels, to give back to the communities that I'm spending time in, and most of all to create more of those human interactions by slowing down a bit and getting to know my hosts while we work or eat or unwind or interact together throughout the day.

    I love being outside, whether it's hiking, camping/backpacking, cycling, or finding a good swimming hole. I scratch my creative itch through gardening projects, baking adventures, and learning new skills. For example, earlier this year I learned how to use a plasma cutter and made two firepits from propane tanks (video: https://www.facebook.com/wgmfisch/videos/10100454634091461/) . I like adding joy and whimsy to the world -- I once filled my coworker's office with balloons (check it out in the photo album), and sometimes I put a bubble machine on the back of my bicycle for my commute to work. I'm also very organized; spreadsheets and to-do lists work great for me. A few years ago I decided I wanted to expand my cooking skills so I challenged myself to make 52 new recipes in a year (and I kept track of the successes and failures in a spreadsheet -- find a new favorite recipe here: https://bit.ly/2sr7CQS).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Hard skills
    --------------
    *️️ English Language
    Native English speaker, happy to work with non-native speakers on pronunciation, vocabulary, and conversation skills
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ Administrative / Computer
    8 years working at software companies, with a knack for looking at tools or processes and finding ways to make them easier or more efficient; 3 years working in Product Management and User Experience. I'm organized and great with logistics, the type of person who probably already has a spreadsheet or checklist or plan for whatever it is we're talking about. I have experience with Event Planning as well.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ Gardening / landscaping:
    1 year as co-coordinator of a community garden; volunteered on 2 month-long trail crews focused on erosion control, habitat restoration, and invasive species removal. I love getting my hands dirty and find working outside to be both meditative and rewarding.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️ Cooking / Baking:
    I know my way around a cake/tart/jam/ice cream/you-name-it dessert recipe, and love baking treats to share with friends. I enjoy working in the kitchen and helping others to prepare meals.

    Soft skills
    --------------
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Leadership & Hospitality
    8 years working in a mix of Customer Support / Account Management and Restaurant Hospitality. I have managed a team of up to 7 people, with a leadership philosophy that emphasizes mentorship, trust in my team, and personal growth for everyone on it. I'm often described as a consensus-builder, supportive, and reliable.
    *️️️️️️️️️️Positive attitude:
    I'm an optimistic person and great at finding silver linings. During challenging times, people often comment that they're impressed at how upbeat I am, for example after undergoing surgery for a broken elbow.
    *️️️️️️️️️️Communal living:
    As an adult I have happily lived in several 6-person homes, and have spent much of the past 9 months living in hostels or homestays around the world. I very much understand the importance of respecting shared spaces, and I enjoy finding/creating community where I live.

  • Languages spoken

    English (native), Spanish (fluent), French (beginner)

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    United States

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

I made this sign for a WorkAway host -- he showed me a picture of what he wanted, and I recreated it on a chalkboard in the common area
I love exploring on a bike
Backpacking in California's Sierra Nevada mountains
I learned how to use a plasma cutter and made this howling wolf fire pit (it's still a work in progress in this photo)
I organized my entire company to help fill a coworker's office with balloons while he was on vacation

Feedback