• Japan
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Email verified
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently


    My next destination:

    Puerto Rico - from May 2024 until Sep 2024
    View all
  • Description

    I’m Yukako (Tori) Toriyama.
    I was born in Chiba, Japan.
    Tori-yama means bird-mountain.
    My friends call me Tori.
    I’m in my late forties and female.
    I have lived in US for 10 years now.

    My back ground was PE teacher, fitness instructor, and tour guide for outdoor activities including snorkeling and hiking.
    Physically really healthy.

    These years I am interested in sustainable farming & living style.
    Started volunteered work seasonally in 2014 at organic farm.
    2019 worked at organic coffee farm for several days a week.
    2021 started traveling , joined Wwoofer and helped farm in Texas for 1 month, in Florida for 9 months in US.
    2022 joined Workaway.
    In Mexico helping off-glid B&B and restaurant for 4 month.
    In Canada helping household, farm, total 2 months.
    2023 Helped to cooking for boat tour lunch and cleaning B&B for 6 months in Canada.
    Helping farm in Oregon for 3 months.

    Actually I don’t have much expert knowledge for farming. But would like to learn enthusiastically for sustainable living style.
    I don't have special skills, but I experienced in these few years such as hervesting vegetables/coffee/cacao,mowing, milking goat, taking care of animals, making cheese/yorgurt, and soap, cooking with love for the people. I’ve enjoyed cleaning of every kind, organizing group housing, cooking for large groups, I have installed fiberglass insulation, DIY for shelves, garden bed,,,,love to learn building skills.

    I am a yoga practitioner, practicing daily for 18yrs.
    At first, yoga was physical fitness, evolved into work, now it becomes my life style. Lately I’ve been focusing more on meditation and breath works.

    My English is good enough to communicate with others, my weakest is phone call conversation.(Because of my Japanese accent..;)

    And I am typical Japanese.
    Quiet, respect people, no complains, hard worker, punctual, good listner,,, but I’m not much serious;)easy going, go with the flow.

    Would like to learn many different things while helping people with their projects and dreams.

    I have slight muscular build like a bird(Tori). I have lots of physical and mental endurance, good concentration, never give up attitude.

    My motivation and happiness are through helping people and creating something good, make people happy and make comfortable clean environment. and I also like challenges and accomplishments. ( So I love my yoga practice routine in very early morning and cold plunge & chopping woods:)

    Through these years volunteer experiences, I met many wonderful people and be supported by all of them, learning many things to creating my ideal life style.
    My visualizing life:
    "Who I will be "is harmonize to the universe with love, Appreciate what I have, Keep looking ahead positively, respect and be humble.
    "How I live in" is Sustainable, self sufficient life style, building by myself small place where I live, connect all the people who I love, surrounded by things which hand made and natural, serving healthy foods to people with love, making peoples heart filled, happy, lots of laughs and peace.

    I am getting toward to my visualized life through this workaway experiences, I am collecting each pieces by every steps.

    If interested in me, Please let me join your family/community and help with your project. Hope to see you soon:)

    I filled out this application giving you an idea of my English skill!

    Arigatougozaimasu- thank you very much:)

  • Interests

    Yoga / Wellness
    Water sports
    Van life
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Sailing / Boating
    Plant care
    Outdoor activities
    Movies & TV
    Charity work

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Japanese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    Started learning Spanish in2023

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

  • More details about your skills

    My skills include all mentioned in profile ( I don't have special skills, but I experienced in these few years such as harvesting vegetables, coffee, cacao, mowing, milking goat, taking care of animals, making cheese, yogurt, and soap. I’ve enjoyed cleaning of every kind, organizing group housing, cooking for large groups, I have even installed fiberglass insolation.) and I have hospitality , creating positive energy, and harmonizing skills.

  • Age


  • What else ...

    Since I left Japan about 15 years ago I have lived in few different countries.
    I have learned different culture was surrounded by nature, seeing people enjoying living their lives in inconvenient environments.
    Then my life style is getting simple and appreciate what I have.

    I like to meet people and learn new things.
    I am aiming to live sustainably in the future and work toward that.
    I'm learning building house, making own vegetable garden, spier fishing, cooking foods from different countries.
    Now I am learning Spanish to communicate more with local people to learn their culture.

    Wishing one day everything will fall in place and we can live in harmony with animals, nature and universe :)
    This is one of my goal.
    So this workaway experiences will be one of the piece of the puzzle.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian, avoid daily product such as cow milk, (I still eat and like cheese:)