Monika & Thomas

From: Slovakia (Slovak Republic) & New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand, Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/07/2019 - 23/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi there, thank you for looking at our profile!

    I come originally from Slovakia but I spent the last five years in New Zealand where I've done woofing all around the country. I met my kiwi partner Tom, together we are starting a new adventure now- traveling across Europe. We are both very passionate about food, where it comes from.

    We love cooking, baking, gardening, landscaping, all sorts of outdoors activities and DIY projects.

    We care a lot about the environment and try to produce as little waste as possible, we use organic eco-friendly products, recycle & re-purpose, and love to give things a second chance...we try to be good to this planet in general.

    'Real Jobs':

    I love to do photography with post-production editing, upcycling furniture, landscaping, baking bread and making preserves from the food we grow.

    Tom is an ethical hunter (but we have no problem with purely vegeterian\vegan meals), he recently started blogging about the craft of meat curing (dry cured & smoked goods). Tom loves camping, passionate people, fishing, gardening, talking:) (if you want to improve your English he is the right person)

    It would be awesome to meet like-minded people and maybe learn new skills :) We are interested mainly in woofing on farms in a rural environment, we love to work with the animals and nurture plants. Learning more about permaculture, food forests and how to cook your traditional dishes is definitely what we would love :-)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Videography
    Photography
    Blogging

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    We both grew up in the countryside so growing & propagating plants, doing the lawns, looking after animals and general work around the house are very common for us.
    I have a Masters Degree in Natural Sciences, after University, I decided to travel and got ''stuck' in New Zealand for almost 5 years. I traveled all around New Zealand and seasonally worked around various horticultural industries. Including kiwifruit orchards, cherry orchards, organic/biodynamic vineyards, blueberry farms, and citrus farm - I am not afraid of getting my hands dirty! I worked in clean eating organic cafes as well both in the kitchen and service aspects.
    My last role was a customer service role for a small family business, LilyBee Wraps which hand makes eco-friendly products - beeswax wraps which are used as a replacement for cling foil/plastic cling film. This job definitely changed our lives.
    We started to see plastic everywhere around us and we became more aware of what we buy. We are far from being zero waste but we try to do our best. For example, choosing paper packaging, using refill stations for our soap, shampoo, saying no to plastic bags, recycling...
    I have a big passion for upcycling old furniture, just give me a sander and paint and I can do miracles. :) She loves landscaping, baking sourdough bread, photography.
    Tom worked as a renewable energy consultant & commerical energy auditor in Australia and New Zealand. He has had other professional jobs in the commerical and government sectors. (but he has never really liked working in an office environment).
    He is technically minded and very good around digital or computer technology. Social media and internet marketing is now one of his passions.
    He recently started writing a blog (www.eatcuredmeat.com) about cured meat. He loves making his own bacon, salami, sausages...He is an ethical hunter, hunting for meat and only harvesting what he can use and share.
    He is a handyman, together with me we have built furniture we are quite proud of!
    Tom is an english native speaker and has a gift for talking, if you want to improve your english, he is the right person to talk to :)
    We both Love animals so If you have a furry friend thats a big + :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent

  • Age

    31 & 42

  • Nationality

    New Zealand, Slovak

  • What else ...

    gardening, sourdough/baking, fishing, foraging, renewable projects, animal training - lots of varied experiences to draw from!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback