Khaled

From: Egypt

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Nepal, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 10/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Heeeiii, this is Khaled.

    A 22-years-old undergraduate Economics student from Egypt. I was born and brought up in a small-town area near the capital city of Egypt, Cairo. During my schooling, I developed a keen interest in sustainable and development studies, and due to this, I’m currently pursuing my undergraduate degree in Economics. I’m also Assistant Researcher, previously worked as a reviewer and editor for one the Associate Professors at Cambridge University UK and a former full-time research assistant to professor Huy at the University of Nagasaki in Japan.

    Apart from my academic background, I’ve been taking part in a number of community service volunteering programs since late 2016, and I have been to Finland and Germany recently in an international European Voluntary Service Project and a scientific conference respectively. I held several positions from organizing international Model United Nations (MUN) events that address the eco-friendly approaches of a better Egypt to teaching kids at primary schools, and in my most recent work, I developed a stronger interest in things related to Economics and Sustainable Development and its affiliates on things such as agriculture, gardening, permaculture environment, global poverty, women empowerment, and education. I even worked on two international research projects on sustainability in collaboration with students from Asia and Europe between 2017 and 2018 and in my most recent work, I've got fund from the Egyptian Banking Institute to support one of my projects on such fields.

    I feel very passionate about being in a rural area, just surrounded by nature while retreating my inner self. I trust my affinity for this comes from the way my life works here in Egypt, often stressed about a lot of things I’m doing, and just trying my utmost best to become the person who I have always wanted to become. So, I guess having the opportunity to travel abroad is something that will not only treat my inner soul but also will support my learning and academic experience, which all are things I’m endeavoring to achieve.

    Besides that, and on a very brighter note, I love nature and seeing people speaking in their language, which is the reason I would love to spend a couple of weeks in a country where everything seems so much beautiful to me. Maybe learning a beautiful dialect and trying to speak with it; or going for hiking with a dog somewhere in the middle of nowhere just me and myself, or hanging out with a bicycle while exploring around, I guess this is something enchanting I’m looking forward to doing...

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My Workaway Experience:

    1. English Teaching Volunteer in the small village of Chandrawiti near Dumre, Nepal.
    2. Painting and Construction in Pokhara, Nepal.


    In addition ....

    As a student currently majoring in Economics, I have been exposed to different kinds of community and sustainable development studies that helped me so far to develop a keen understanding of several projects ranging from Sustainable Agriculture and Permaculture to Global Poverty and Human Empowerment. This includes:

    - Working with underprivileged children improve their English Language.
    - Assisting in Sustainable farming and eco-projects
    - And Many more

    Besides, being an academic researcher with over three years of research experience gave me a deep knowledge of writing in social and academic settings. So, I have different writing skills such as writing reports, grant proposals, reviews, copywriting, etc.

    Besides to the more above mentioned, I have gained a lot of practical community service work experience, especially in the field of teaching since I have been a teaching assistant of the English Language and Mathematics to African Refugee schools in Egypt.

    I'm also a rising entrepreneur (hope so), and have worked previously on two international projects that were accepted for funds from the Egyptian Banking Institute in Collaboration with the Central Bank in Egypt.
    I guess these are the things I'm exceedingly capable of doing, but I would love to learn a lot of new things in different settings

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic (Mother tongue) & English (Fluent) & Deutsche "German" (Beginner - still learning) & Finnish (Just basics)

  • Age

    22

  • Nationality

    Egyptian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm open to anything, but I neither eat Pork nor drink Alcohol.

Photos

Feedback