Kenneyev

  • Australia & Hong Kong
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Watch my profile video

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch the video.

Profile information

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Jasmine:
    Hello! Nice to meet you (^_^) I'm Jasmine, an adventurous, imaginative and hardworking French/Scottish Australian.
    I love people, good food, nature and music and am fascinated by psychology, folk lore and culture.
    I'm often inspired by great initiatives and do what I can to take part, especially those involved with improving the lives of refugees, community building or creating a more socially just and sustainable world.
    I'm really looking forward to improving my Japanese, learning some Japanese cooking, visiting beautiful places and those with great cultures, exploring mountains and forests and learning more about Japanese philosophies and worldview.
    I'm currently living with a family in rural Fukui and working as a private English tutor.
    Kenneth:
    Heya how's it going? My name is Kenneth, a Hong Konger. It's a pleasure to introduce myself to you.
    Basically I’m a slasher: dancer/ choreographer/ actor/ movement director/ barista/ all-rounder etc.
    I'm always looking for a chance to communicate with people from different cultures and upbringings. I find the interactions of humans fascinating, which usually goes with my curiosity really well. But no worries if you're concerned that I might be too overwhelming, because I understand and respect that personal space is important and I’m a low-key introvert. I'm well travelled (8 countries or more) due to my profession, which requires me to do touring sometimes and work with artists from different backgrounds and speak different languages. It's fun to learn how humans express themselves through their gestures when verbal communication is limited.
    I'm having a break now and cannot wait to meet all of you!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Jasmine:
    Farm work: Growing up on a permaculture farm, I can do basic farm work, prune, harvest fruit and vegetables and drive a tractor.
    English Teaching: I am a qualified and experienced English teacher and have the CELTA certificate and teaching experience.
    Childcare: I have worked as a nanny, aupair and babysitter and used to volunteer as homework/English tutor for children from refugee backgrounds.
    Social Work: I'm a trained social worker with experience in community work and community development.
    Event organising: I have experience organising events and a camping conference (with others).
    Cooking: I enjoy cooking so am happy to do this.
    Cleaning and housekeeping: I did a lot of cleaning when working as a nanny and in an animal adoption centre.
    Administrative work: Data entry, answering phones, reception, applying for grants, etc.
    Ukulele: We both play the ukulele = )
    Kenneth:
    Dance teaching:
    mainly in contemporary dance and physical theatre practice. My biography and more information can be provided if asked.
    Teaching English:
    Despite not being as certified and official as my partner, I did finish my bachelor degree in English. I use English really often because I travel a lot, which highly depends on it. I've worked as a barista/ all-rounder in the cafes of Adelaide for a year, which serve locals, mostly. It would be sufficient for me to handle anyone at secondary school level.
    Coffee making/ hospitality:
    The number one thing I love besides my first profession (and my partner of course ; ) )
    Picked this up by working as an all-rounder in a specialty coffee shop in Hong Kong. Despite being able to run a small coffee shop almost all by myself, which usually involves more management skills, I’m still learning the art of making good coffee. This is a really big industry in which you can never stop learning something new!
    Also, if you’re interested to hear more stories from this line of work, I’m more than happy to share them with you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    32 & 34

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback