Kimberly

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Email verified
Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there! I'm Kim, and I love helping people and exploring other people's cultures and worlds. Maybe we can help each other.

    A bit about me. Five years ago, I left a stressful and rather soul-sucking career consulting big tech companies on marketing strategy and decided to apply my skills to a cause that was actually making a difference in the world (and felt better in my heart). So I left my old life in America behind and headed to Bali, Indonesia to volunteer for an NGO in midwifery, disaster response, and education.

    It was supposed to be six-to-twelve months, maybe a little longer. I didn't know that was going to be the beginning of a much longer and bigger journey. After traveling all through SE Asia and four great years in Bali, I decided to travel onward and explore new opportunities to help people and see what adventures and experiences awaited me.

    One year and 15 countries into real, official nomading and I feel like I am just getting started. At this point, I am open to going just about anywhere there is a great opportunity. I have my sights set on exploring more of Mexico and Central America in the next year or so, and would like to spend more time in Africa whenever I am able to return. I also need to experience more of Indonesia. So many places to go!

    I think I am a bit older and more skilled than your average Workawayer, so there is a lot I can offer and also some areas of particular interest I'd like to explore. It also means I'm more mature so I'm quite independent. My work schedule is flexible, so there are no constraints on my availability. Otherwise, here are some areas of interest:

    - MARKETING. I’m especially seeking hosts that may need help with marketing (website, social media, content, visual/video, email marketing, etc.). I have 25 years of experience in marketing and communications, so there is almost no aspect of marketing I am not highly skilled in.
    - NGOs. I would like to continue supporting NGOs who need marketing and communications support. I'm open to exploring organizations that may need a website, a field report, blogs, social media, visual content/video or other communications support to further their cause.
    - BOATING. I would like to learn about boating and sailing, as I am entertaining a future as a yachty. I don't have any skills to offer, but if you just need a set of hands and want to teach me some things, I'd love to explore it.
    - AI. It's been about a year and a half since I shifted my marketing business into AI, learning everything I could about the various tools and how to apply them to create content. If you want to learn ChatGPT, Midjourney, Runway or simply what's possible, I would absolutely love to help you.
    - HOSTELS. I have stayed in 50 hostels across 20 countries, and I love them. I love them so much, I have my sights set on opening one some time in the future. So I'd like to spend some time working in them and learning the ropes. Yes, I'm older, but still quite social and tons of fun in addition to being a great worker.
    - PAINTING/CREATIVE. I am an artist and once had a house painting business, so if you need the help of a creative who is handy with a brush, I am your girl! I love creative work of all sorts, so if it is using my hands, I am in.
    - HOME & GARDEN. I am happy to play in the dirt or help with home renovations, so I think some gardening or orchard work or animal care would be grounding and almost therapeutic after far too many years staring at a computer screen.
    - COOKING & KIDS. I'm a pretty great cook, too, and it is how I like to care for people, so always happy to help there. And kids -- they love me! While I'm not really looking to be a nanny, if you'd like your kids to interact with a native English speaker, I can certainly assist you. I have been living abroad for long enough to be slower and clearer with my words for non-native speakers.

    I think I'm an ideal guest -- pretty friendly, easygoing, low-maintenance and adapt quickly to new environments and people. I've had a pretty unconventional life, and I've been living nomadically for most of it. I’m not a smoker, but I don’t mind if you are. I eat meat, but prefer a largely plant-based diet. I enjoy wine, nice conversation and anything that makes for a good story.

    Having said all that, only you will know after reading this if you think we'll vibe and if I'm the kind of person you're looking for. Thanks for reading all that!

  • Interests

    Sustainability
    Self development
    Pets
    Blogging
    Animals
    Yoga / Wellness
    Writing
    Videography
    Technology
    Sailing / Boating
    Politics / Social justice
    Nature
    Photography
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Gardening
    Fitness
    Events & social
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I have basic Spanish language skills but haven’t practiced in years. I’d love to spend this time improving on both my skills and comfort level speaking with and understanding Spanish speakers.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Babysitting and creative play

    Some knowledge of:  

    Art Projects
    Languages
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I feel like I have a lot of skills to offer:
    -- great cook
    -- good company for adults (I love deep conversation)
    -- great with kids (they think I’m one of them)
    -- painting and home projects (I had a house painting business for four years and loved it, so I’m not stranger to renovation projects)
    -- working in the dirt, in nature or with animals
    -- marketing (all aspects from social media to websites to email marketing and everything in-between)
    -- writing and editing
    -- yoga (certified teacher)
    -- creative projects (art, jewelry, handcrafts, etc)

  • Age

    43

  • What else ...

    These days I am very invested in learning artificial intelligence applications in marketing and content creation, including using tools to create art and imagery, generate written content, create music, video and all kinds of interesting things. That aside, I am also a big music and art lover, and enjoy other creative people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Not really, but I avoid milk and eggs when I can.

Feedback

Photos

Friends

Feedback