Jack

  • Ireland
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Turkey
    View all
  • Description

    Hi,

    In Portugal/ Spain for august

    I am learning Spanish, will also be happy to do a language exchange and teach you English

    I'm Jack from Ireland. I have travelled around europe, Canada & Ghana using workaway and had plenty great experiences.

    During the pandemic I moved to Catalonia, working as an English teacher with kids&us, teaching kids aged 8-14, also worked in various summer schools in Barcelona/ Tarragona.
    I have now moved back to Ireland to do a welding traineeship, getting fully qualified as a coded pipe welder. I am already a certified coded welder.

    My lifelong passion is music, which I still teach and perform. My instruments: drumkit, cajon, bodhrán, djembe, ngoni (west african harp) and Irish Concertina.

    I enjoy working with my hands & making things such as ( instruments, garden furniture, circus aperatus, gas bottle stoves, bicycle trailers, garden tools, etc. )

    Here is my instrument page to see some of my instruments:

    https://www.facebook.com/SonicScrapYard/

    Here you can hear what my instruments sound like:

    https://www.instagram.com/yackkirwan/?hl=en

    Here is my musician page, to hear me playing :

    https://www.instagram.com/jkmu.sic22/?hl=en

    Just in case this is useful to anyone:
    I've been studying african drumming for the last couple years (Upper Guinean drumming) . I built a Malian Ngoni harp and am learning that at the moment. I would be glad to share what I've learned so far. And of course I can share some Irish traditional tunes to anyone interested.

    I love travelling & meeting new people, helping with projects. It's great to meet people who share interests and introduce you to new ones also.

    I've worked as a laborer on construction sites from a young age so I have seen a lot of the building process. I worked several summers as a landscaping laborer. Have also worked as hostel cleaner/ receptionist (schlafmeile Berlin) and airbnb cleaner (spain 2018).


    I am a native English speaker with a TEFL certificate for teaching, so if you want to learn English, I'm your man!


    I have done a lot of workaways now and have I prefer when hosts can give me a set amount of hours to work per day so I can plan the free time but I'm sure thats what you want too!

    I enjoy active and outdoor activities a lot, I'm up for any of them really.

    Looking forward to meet you!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Ewe: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Languages
  • More details about your skills

    Laboring skills, DIY skills, good with tools & power tools, gardening/landscaping skills. music: percussion & concertina (Irish traditional music) some basic massage/ reflexology. English teaching. Driving

  • Age

    30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dairy, tomatoe, spicy foods, garlic, onion

    • Special dietary requirements
      I have gastritis so no dairy, chilli's, anything that causes too much stomach acid

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback