Joshua & Jennifer

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Chile

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/08/2019 - 01/03/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Jen and I are English and live in a creative and very accepting seaside town in England called Brighton. We are keen to challenge ourselves with new experiences, we love traveling, and as a very sociable couple we love meeting new people! We enjoy getting stuck in and making a difference. I myself, as an electrical supervisor really thrive and enjoy hands on projects and work. Jen is a paediatric nurse and is keen to work with people and especially children, but is also willing help with hands on projects too.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Jen:

    Having been a qualified paediatric (children’s) nurse (BSc) for 6 years I am confident in clinical skills and caregiving that addresses the child’s physical needs, as well as the social and emotional needs that run alongside these. I always aim to empower by informing and involving the child, their families and caregivers, and this is benefited by my excellent communication skills that are necessary in my job. Although I can quickly develop therapeutic relationships, I always respect professional boundaries and work within my limitations, escalating issues as appropriate. Within my role as a paediatric emergency nurse I have learnt how to deal with stressful situations and like to think of myself as both a good leader and team player depending on the situation.
    Within my nursing role at work I am a qualified mentor, which means I help to teach, demonstrate, assist and evaluate the clinical skills and care of both medical and nursing students. This has greatly improved and developed my teaching skills and my ability to give constructive feedback. I also enjoy the academic side of nursing, my dissertation was published in a medical journal.
    I love being able to make a difference, which is why recently I rounded up a group of my friends to drive to Calais in France and volunteer. We gave basic medical care to refugees who were living in ‘the jungle.’ It was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life and I am keen to volunteer in any scope of practice. I also have experience volunteering in townships in South Africa, where I helped teach English to children of varying ages. Because it is my first language, I believe I have the skills and ability to teach basic English to both adults and children.
    I love working with children and, along with nursing, also have extensive experience of working with children in a non-clinical setting. I worked in Turkey as a children’s activities assistant for the company Sunsail, where my job role was to organise, plan and deliver crafts, cooking, sports and other activities to groups of children of varying ages. As well as children, I have experience in working with adults. I worked for Camp America in a one to one camp for people from different backgrounds and ages with cerebral palsy. It was hard work physically and emotionally and long hours, but very rewarding. At this camp I learnt a lot about disability, communication and compassion.
    I have an avid interest for the arts, and my hobbies include going to the theatre to see performances in both dance and drama, as well as visiting museums and galleries. Since we have been away I have been really enjoying creative writing, and have written a daily blog so as to document our incredible experiences, and so all of our family and friends all over the world can keep up to date with our adventures. I have a degree in contemporary dance (BA) and fourteen years experience in tap, ballet and modern. I have choreographed and performed in music videos and have performed in the Royal Albert Hall in England.
    Sport has always been very prevalent in my life and I am always keen to try new things! I am a qualified sailing instructor, a qualified dancer, and my hobbies include skiing, snowboarding, swimming and hockey. I love running, and competed in a 10k race just before we left England for travelling.
    We have tried to remain active since we have been away. Last month I attended a week long camp in Peru, where I learnt to surf, which I absolutely loved! Amongst other activities such as climbing and salsa lessons, we have trekked in the Andes, and stayed in a tent! I love camping and being outside when I can. Josh and I are both adrenaline junkies and did a skydive this year which was absolutely exhilarating!
    I am very lucky in that I have always travelled a lot, as a hobby as well as for sailing competitions - I represented Great Britain in multiple countries. I believe travel is important to help broaden horizons, to open the mind, and it helps to encourage understanding, tolerance and peace. Josh and I have both really enjoyed staying in homestays in South America, so as to gain better insight into the locals way of life, to create meaningful relationships, and form lifelong friendships. We love animals and especially love it when the homestays have dogs and cats for us to cuddle!
    Overall Josh and I are both very sociable. We are excited to meet new people, to settle in one place for more than a few days, and to get stuck into a fulfilling new project, whatever that may be. Whether it is something I already have skills in, or something new, believe me I will get stuck in and give it my best!



    Josh:

    With ten years as a qualified electrician, I am confident in dealing with most electrical fault scenarios. I have varying scope within the electrical field. In the past I have worked on huge installs that involve renewable energy, wiring machinery and installing relevant containment, individual circuits and power supplies. I worked in refrigeration and air conditioning on large-scale projects, lasting anything from two weeks to over six months. More recently I have turned my hand to smaller scale projects, working for a nationwide company. This involved maintaining commercial buildings, fault finding, general maintenance and new installs. With my confidence and competence in the job, alongside my excellent communications skills, I was promoted to supervisor, which meant my job developed and I became a team leader and role model for my peers. I really enjoyed managing my own team and the extra responsibility it gave me. I pride myself in both the precision of my work and my people skills. I have an NVQ Level 3 qualification in electrical installation, a JIB Gold standard certification, alongside an IPAF licence to drive machinery such as scissor and boom lifts, and a PASMA qualification to erect and utilise mobile scaffolding.
    Coming from a family of different tradesmen, I have always been exposed and involved in other trades such as plumbing, carpentry and construction. My friends always put me to good use in their house, whether that’s to fix a broken toilet, a fire alarm or general DIY such as shelves and picture hanging. I am very confident with all kinds of electrical tools.
    Prior to becoming an electrician I spent a year working in a special needs college. I really enjoy working with people, and it was a great introduction to care work. That year was vital to my development and understanding of the world and of all the different people in it.
    I have lots of hobbies including the arts. I am a keen self-taught photographer and I have basic skills in Lightroom software. Recently one of my photos was nominated for the National Geographic Instagram account. This year of adventure has been an excellent source of inspiration and I have really enjoyed having the time to persue this hobby. Throughout our travels I have been uploading pictures to our blog as a visual diary for us, and our friends, to enjoy. I will look forward to documenting our time with you!
    I enjoy different sports such as climbing, table tennis, and running – I recently competed in a 10K running race in my hometown before leaving for South America, which was so rewarding! We have stayed active in South America, I attended a week-long surf camp in Peru and trekked through the Andes with Jen, both of which were unforgettable experiences.
    I have been lucky to travel to lots of different places such as India and Southeast Asia, and love trying new food, meeting new people and learning about different cultures and religions.
    I am really excited to get to know you, to put my skills into good use and to develop and learn new things.

  • Languages spoken

    English is our native language, Jen has a basic level French and Spanish

  • Age

    31 & 30

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Both of us enjoy playing all sorts of games, and having fun. We have a keen creative flair. Josh is an enthusiastic photographer. Jen has a degree in contemporary dance.
    We both enjoy socialising and working with people and can help in teaching basic English.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No dietry requirements

Photos

Feedback