Jelle

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/08/2019 - 01/05/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I just finished my bachelors in mechanical engineering and now it´s time for a break. I´ll travel from mexico all the way down south latin america.
    I've lived in Mexico for a year and a half, one year after high school, and one semester at the start of 2019. I'm a big fan of nature and outdoors activities, and plan to do a lot of hiking on my trip. I've also done diving (I've become a divemaster since starting this trip) and I'm trying to learn some surfing. I'm a bit of a technology nerd, which is probably inevitable as an engineer 😜. I've worked in IT and a little while as a mechanical engineer analysing 3d printed metals in the lab. As a side activity in university I also brewed beer for several years, which has led to me now working at a brewery for a little while in Nicaragua.
    During this trip I hope to have new incredible experiences, pick up new skills, and give back to local communities. Depending on my money I will travel two to three years, and hopefully as part of that I'd also like to do some sailing, maybe around the Caribbean, and hopefully at the end I'll sail back home.
    So far I've really only had one proper workaway experience, teaching English in Honduras, which was a great time, and I learned a lot. The kids were great, and I hope that I brought some positive influence in their lives.
    También hablo español, ya vivía un año y medio en México antes. Me gusta la tecnologia, la naturaleza, comida, cerveza (tomarla y hacerla) y deportes.
    En este viaje quiero disfrutar toda la naturaleza hermosa que hay en latinoamerica, y tengo unos años para hacerlo.
    Tengo entre dos y tres años para hacer todo mi viaje, y en eso me gustaria ayudar en proyectos que me deja aprender cosas nuevas, si sería surfing, cocinar comida local, idioma nueva o algo completamente diferente. Este viaje sería una experiencia increible, y espero que todos los proyectos van a ser un parte muy importante de eso.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I used to teach English, Math and Physics to high school students in the Netherlands.
    Fully certified PADI divemaster
    I worked in IT for over a year, so I can do most IT stuff for small scale networks.
    I love to cook, and I am used to cooking for bigger groups.
    As an engineer I can apply those skills in a wide variety of fields, construction, control, and other technical tasks, I learn pretty quick.
    I love to learn languages, now I just speak Spanish, English and Dutch, but I would love to learn some more.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish, English & Dutch fluent, and some german

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I love games, video and boardgames, and I´ll be traveling with my own chess board.
    I have proper hiking boots, and hope to use those a lot, and I'm always in for a hike or a nice trip by bike

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback