Jehan-Basil

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/04/2019 - 01/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Since a young age I've found my home in the outdoors, being active and communing with nature. I feel that humans have taken a turn in their evolution that is separating them from nature and therefore from themselves. I work in service to change that paradigm in which ever ways large or small that I can.

    Presently travelling with my best friend James, together we are looking to build our knowledge and skill sets in all things related to community building, Permaculture and spirituality. Living in service to things bigger than ourselves and to live simply and harmoniously. We are also looking for locations to either join a project permanently or find land to start a project ourselves. Very keen to meet and exchange with people who align with our core values and exchange and grow together!

    I would describe myself as a dynamic, honest and kind person. Quite grounded and always ready for action. I love meeting people and learning new things as well as sharing what I have!

    Completed a Permaculture design certificate two years ago, I really found my calling there. I am working towards my diploma and have completed 4 full designs and am hoping in the future to be able to teach. I worked for 4 months in Spain on a variety of projects, ranging from bio construction builds with cob and straw bale, foundations, forestry work, solar showers, French drains, terracing, swales, raised beds, building poly tunnels, being resourceful & using local materials, I have a particular interest in soil science and regenerative agriculture techniques for maximizing yields and nutrient content in food and have good knowledge of composting using rapid hot methods & chop & drop methods using biodynamic accumulators, wormeries, biochar, harvesting of IMO's (indigenous micro organisms) Spent 1 year in Normandie, where I designed and built agroforestry and Permaculture systems, as well as maintenance of annual
    veg crops for a luxury Chateau. Then lived in a farm where i was really self sufficient and working more or less alone grew enough veg to support a community of 8, using permaculture principles and biodynamics. also designed a food forest, to be planted this November.

    Traveling in a live in van which I partly converted myself.

    My principle aims at the moment, are to further my knowledge and skills in the area of self sufficiency and community resilience. Wanting very much to help be on the right side of history in embodying and creating a better world for all. Looking to join projects that are forward thinking and dynamic to help and serve as much as possible. Also scouting for the right location and maybe land to purchase, collective work.

    From a physical point of view I love hiking and mountain biking but reserve a special passion for rock climbing, good knowledge of lead climbing. Love all the strength training etc associated. Bring together the mind and the body to overcome perceived limits.

    I am an avid reader and also love to write. Well read in gift economy, anthropology, politics, economics, philosophy, mysticism, practical and theoretical books on permaculture, agroforestry etc I have a pretty decent library which I'm driving around in my van, which I currently live In.

    I'm a meditator. Really feel the benefits of mindfulness, gift, gratitude and meta. Looking for opportunities to further my learning and meet good people to share in ideas etc.

    Also I speak good French & OK Italian (I am half French though born and bred in UK) I have started to learn Spanish and would very much value any opportunity to speak in any of the above languages.

    Travelling in a live in vehicle.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
  • More details about your skills

    Design and implementation of permaculture systems.
    No-dig organic gardening.
    Plant nursing.
    Soil building & Composting.
    Food/agro forestry.
    Regenerative agriculture.
    Plant knowledge for food, medicine, soap, dye, tying & building materials.
    Community resilience.
    Holacracy and non hierarchical planning.
    Holistic management for system designing.
    Ecological principles and systems thinking to maximize beneficial relationships and functions between elements.
    Tree planting & plan designing.
    Landscaping & Key like design.
    Some experience in DIY and wood work, comfortable using a chainsaw and a variety of tools.

    Field to fork, Good cook.

    Well read in philosophy, gift economy, anthropology, politics, economics.
    Love to write, poetry & philosophy mostly.
    Meditation and mysticism, particularly Buddhism and Taoism.
    Strong boulderer & sport climber.
    Mountain biking.
    Health, fitness & nutrition, kenisthetics.
    Studied music at university, was a private bass tutor for a time.
    Speak French, ok Italian, learning Spanish.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    Love cooking, playing cards and board games. Best board game for me is twilight struggle. Chatting, getting to know people. Massage. Films. Art. Photography. Pretty much like life and all the accompanying vicissitudes.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback