Jacob

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/03/2018 - 11/05/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    788

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! I am a 25 year old American traveler from New York. I traveled and workawayed in Australia 2017 and had the times of my life. Now that I am back in my home country, I'd like to continue these amazing experiences. I returned home September 2017, and I moved out to Salt Lake City, UT to work for the Sundance Film Festival. That snowballed into 3 years of working other film festivals around the country, such as Tribeca, Telluride, and Mill Valley. I had plans to travel New Zealand in April, but due to the current happenings in the world, I am bound to NY. It would be great to lend a hand at this time and I truly would love to learn more about permaculture and sustainable lifestyles.
    Here is what I've done with Workaway in the past:
    I stayed with a family of 4 in Henley Beach, Adelaide, which was my first workaway experience and could not have been any better! I helped tend the yard and garden, tidied up the house/office, spent time with the kids and dog and cat.
    Workaway'd on a free range pig farm in Penguin, Tasmania, Mount Gnomon Farm, which was a highlight of my travels, trust me, never would have guessed it, but it was incredible. Tended to the pigs, assisted food service at the on-paddock functioning restaurant. Attended the local weekend markets to sell the pork products. Staffed in catered events.
    Lastly, I spent time at a couple's farm in Mullumbimby, NSW where I did a bit of spring cleaning, tidied up a sleeping area for future AirBnb guest, took care of goats and cows, and a bit of landscaping.
    Growing up in New York I was surrounded by the concrete jungle, the hustle and bustle. It is great to get away and take a breath of fresh air! Just looking at the stars, hanging by the beach or gazing over the rolling hills gives me zen. I think being a part of this workaway program is an incredible way to become immersed in your destination's culture and true way of life. That is why I love to travel. So I really hope to get a great taste of my destination's lifestyle with friendly and knowledgeable people who have much to share about themselves and their country! I am also truly looking forward to helping families out with work around the house. I love being a great help to people, making people smile and laugh makes my day.
    I love working with animals, I have had only golden retrievers in my life and my current puppy, Laila, and my past dog, Lucy, both had/have three legs, so I know how to take great care of my animals. Kids also seem to love me (I am a kid at heart, but a mature and responsible one nonetheless) I have so much fun making them laugh.
    Overall, I am a laid back, easy going individual who works hard and really puts passion into all that I do. I love to see the results of the work I put in, and I love to have new, exciting, even unexpected experiences!
    Wherever I go, I would love to see the great outdoors, so any activities that I may be able to do like hiking, biking, camping, kayaking, etc I would love to do! I want to get to know my surroundings just as much as I do the people that host me.
    I also love movies, reading, sudoku puzzles, cooking, and outdoor activities so I hope to share these interests with my future hosts! Cheers!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I can cook, do manual labor and a bit of construction (comfortable around drills/saws/etc), take care of animals (my family owned a farm in Kentucky with chickens, horses, alpacas, donkeys, goats), general house/yard work; I am good all around and a quick study!

  • Languages spoken

    English, beginners Italian

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    In one of my workaway stays, I was introduced to the Permaculture lifestyle. I thought it was absolutely amazing and eye opening and I would love to continue my learning on such a culture.
    I enjoy socializing with my hosts, and learning about them and their story, so I am not exactly looking for a situation where I will be isolated or alone most of my time. Although that's not a dealbreaker!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope!

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat mostly everything, try me!

Photos

Lake Blanche, Utah
Met some friends along the Great Ocean Road :)
Uluru, Aus
Feeding Freya, Tasmania
Making dumplings, Tasmania AUS
Helping in the garden, Adelaide, Aus

Feedback