Jan

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, France, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    18/03/2021 - 22/01/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    74

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Energy, good cheer and dependability... to whatever needs doing, when it needs doing.

    I live in Ottawa, Canada building websites, living 'health and wellness', and (usually) travelling with workaway!

    Volunteering with someone's family, project or business is something that I find so inspiring - not to mention that a good day's work brings its own rewards. I love working alone and in together with others... social time as well as personal, quiet time.

    There hasn't been a moment of Workaway that I haven't enjoyed because when you are part of a project or a beautiful location, it could be ironing, mopping, laundry, scrubbing, raking, pruning, planting, weeding... etc. etc. etc.

    Could equally be art projects, reading and language with children (our son and daughter are adults now, thriving on different continents).

    For eco-projects: I never tire of repetitive work like moving/ stacking/reapplying etc. I learn quickly, work neatly, and pay attention to detail.

    For websites or ecommerce, I could empower you for the control seat for your own online project, or I can develop (and later maintain) webpages for you as the workaway volunteer. A search for Jan Morgan, 'Ottawa' and 'Emberry' will reveal my own website.

    RELEVANT EXPERIENCE:

    Five awesome workaway experiences:
    • 3 wks at a B & B (including their business website), France
    • 2 wks at a vineyard undergoing organic certification, Portugal
    • 2 wks for photography and website, France
    • 2 wks at a huge property in Wales doing daily cleaning
    • 1 wk coaching for a business website in Somerset

    - Six months running a Yorkshire Dales B & B (filling in for owner)
    - One semester teaching (private) English in Alsace, France
    - Ongoing: volunteer administrative work for a community in Ottawa
    - Since 2001: building websites which are now exclusively on Squarespace & Shopify platforms. Photography.
    - Since 2009: Therapeutic yoga coach

    I love cooking from scratch, eat light and thrive without grains/ pulses.

    The joy and friendship from our golden retrievers over 14 sunny years.

    (UK and Canadian passports)
    Non-smoker

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Animals
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    Writing
    Books
    Photography
    Culture
    History
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    General household skills & high standards of cleaning
    People support including hospitality
    Business support
    Pet care
    Yoga and meditation
    Web design and eCommerce
    Teaching English as a second language

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    55

  • Nationality

    Canadian and British

  • What else ...

    I love working in teams with every age/background and I love working alone. Value social time and quiet time.

    People + projects + progress = life is good!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Mold

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback