Jackson

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/03/2020 - 09/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello and thank you for taking a minute out of your day to read about me!

    My name is Jackson and I am a recent mechanical engineering graduate with a passion for working with my hands, learning new ways to see the world, and making life easier for others. I am a tad introverted and like some alone time every now and then, but I love working with people and have been getting along very well with my current workaway hosts. I am a very easygoing person and can go with the flow in nearly all situations!

    I love to hike, bicycle, cook/eat, read, and blacksmith (tools and artwork) in my free time. I am taking a gap year after graduation to broaden my horizons and traveling to new places to lend my skills to a family or small community is a dream come true for me. I'm also a geek for science, technology, and the natural beauty of the world.

    I have had a growing desire to do Workaway or WWOOFing for the past two years, but I recently visited some friends in Hawaii who were WWOOFing there and fell in love with the idea of Workaway and the amazing variety within the network.

    Especially during the COVID-19 state of the world right now, I am immensely thankful to any hosts that are willing to invite me into their home and would do my absolute best to show my gratitude!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Past workaway projects:
    -Designed and installed a 200 Watt off-grid solar system
    -Fixing gasoline-powered landscaping tools
    -Household cosmetic work (moulding, paneling, sanding)
    -Helping partially disabled family member of workaway host with daily tasks

    Working with people and problem solving is what makes me happiest. I grew up tinkering with electronics and engines and like to practice my metal and woodworking skills to this day with small personal projects.
    Have something broken in your house or on your farmstead? I can weld too, so I can probably help you fix it or make it better!

    I trained martial arts for a large part of my life and helped teach martial arts summer camps through my dojo, so I have worked with children and teenagers for multiple summers, then I worked at a bakery and developed an interest in baking and doing kitchen work as well.

    My 2018-19 year at university was centered around designing and making a viking-era axe to compete in a blacksmithing competition, a process that taught me blacksmithing and teamwork to finish the axe on time.
    I still love to tinker and I enjoy working with cars, motorcycles, and machines. My current project is fixing up a 1995 Volkswagen to race across my home state of Oregon for 500 miles with my mechanic friends, all for under $500 to keep things interesting!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    Some of my future plans: In late June of 2020 I will be racing in the Gambler 500 offroad race, and afterwards I plan on doing Workaway in Scandinavia and then Japan, depending on how the COVID situation shapes up in the world.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback