Jan

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Uganda

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/10/2020 - 16/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi...I am Jan a 33 year young german guy who loves to travel and to learn about different cultures.
    I wwoofed or did workaway quite a few times and lived with different families for partly a few months.
    For me it's the best idea of life to share experiences and learn things.
    During all my work, i learned a lot about gardening, fencing, maintanance, piping, fixing, chainsawing, planting, weeding, animals...and of course humens ;)

    I drove tractors and different cars and most just call me a handy man.
    I would love to find a peaceful place, being in nature, helping in a garden and idealy, close to some water (lake or beach) and other workers from different contries to come together to share experiences and life.

    workaway out in the world is vacation to me and i even do it on holiday if I have a full time job :). Being part of another idea of another wonderful life in wonderful places, sharing help for good conversation and food is what I am looking for!

    Hopefully see you soon.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I lived in different comunities or families, doing all kind of stuff ;) from gardening to maintanance and I am just happy to be helpfull and make new experiences... :)

    Ok since my current host was not happy that I didn't clearly write about my building and repairing skills :) (she discovered them after half my stay and says: "if I only knew earlier, I have a looong list of things to be fixed") :P....
    here a little list of work I did so far:

    -reinforcing a bridge for humans with metal and wood
    -building a few platforms in buildings as 2. floor or large bed place
    -building my own tree house when I was a child of course :P
    -building propper stairs to the 2. floors
    -building a construction for seperation in old caravan to host chicken
    -building many shelfs or enforce old shelfs
    -building my own beds
    -building seperation toilet
    -building compost/dry toilet
    -enforceing old plastic and whole shower with epoxid and glas fiber
    -refurbushing old windows (wood) to the point to look new and shiny again
    -installed gates
    -repaired gates
    -fixing gate directions and locking mechanism
    -all kind of fencing from fox/pig/cow combination, to very simple deer protection
    -cutting down medium size trees and many branches
    -cutting and splitting wood
    -stone laying (huge stone path)
    -small stone laying for outdoor tyles
    -debuilding aspestas roof
    -cutting down huge blackberry hedges
    -pipeing (grey water)
    -irrigation system in the garten for automatic sprincling system
    -installing frech water system
    -installing 12V system in camper (fuses, cables, connections)
    -installing battery system
    -installing solar system
    -installing power management system
    -installing 12-230V converter
    -installing 230V system with fuses
    -repairing washingmashines
    -repairing Iphones, Sonys, Macbooks, Laptops, Computers
    -repairing varuum cleaner
    -replacing not working tabs


    so as you see my experience is more with wood rather then metal, althow I know how to solder and use a welding tool (candle or safety gas welding).

    I used tons of tools and of course tons of power tools.

    -helped few times with fixing cars and tractors. I know some things, did some things with cars myself, but I see myself here as 2. brain not as first :D

    -driving cars and little trucks
    -driving tractors
    -sailing boats
    -driving boats

    Animal experience:
    -Chicken (many times...kind of everything)
    -Ducks (feeding)
    -Pigs (feeding)
    -Sheep (feeding, rounding up)
    -Cows (rounding up)
    -Horses (basic training with natural horsementship)
    -Alpaka (feeding)
    -Emu (feeding, petting)
    -Dogs (walking, training, feeding, playing of course cuddeling :D)
    -Cats (cuddeling, playing)


    Plants experience:
    Apart from installing, fixing and wood work, I come with few weeks of tree planting experience, few month of vedgetable experience (growing seedlings, planting seedlings, weeding, watering, weeding, .....). The best experience is to be part of the whole cycle from planting to harvasting :)

    I met here and there people they started or practicing permaculture in their garden/field. I would love to learn more about it though :)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    german

  • What else ...

    Places i want to go: only 20 possible ???? so i just choosed the closest to me in Europe :P thats the fist tab

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      haselnuts

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback