Hunter

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Portland, OR, United States - from May 2021 until May 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello there! My name is Hunter and I'm from South Florida. I'm currently learning French (B2) and German (A1) but I love learning a few words from the native speakers of various languages that I meet during my travels.

    I have been to:
    Asia: Vietnam, Japan
    Europe: Portugal, Spain, France, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Ireland
    North America: All over the East Coast of the USA, and a couple West Coast cities.

    At the moment I am getting into electronics with Arduino and Raspberry Pi, and starting to build my own custom projects!

    I am also planning on moving to Portland. On the way there, I would like to spend around a month living in the Arizona Desert. I have never been in a desert before, and I have a specific interesting of getting to know what life is like there. I would also like to spend some time visiting the grand canyon, death valley, and some other places that some friends from Arizona told me to check out.

  • Interests

    Hitchhiking
    Languages
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    -Computer/Electronics Troubleshooting + Configuring
    -Image/Video/Sound Editing
    -Audio mixing
    -Guitar/other instruments

    I have some various experience of course with things like gardening, tiling, and general house maintenance, but only from helping out here and there with friends and volunteer projects.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Can help anyone who wants to learn French to reach the intermediate level- as someone who has done so himself.I would of course love to learn French and German from native speakers or people who are really good :)

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    Arduino/Raspberry Pi Interactive Art

    Back in college, I created a custom- video game controller for an old NES game called Dig-Dug. In the game, you move around an underground sand world, and use a sort of 'pump gun'. I used Arduino technology so that you, in the physical world, had to dig your hands into a box full of sand, find the move controls, and use them to move the character on the screen around. A second player would pump a bike pump up and down, and that would make the Dig Dug character use his pump attack.

    A few years later I am revisiting this technology and would like to use it for custom performance pieces. The first project I want to do is to make a jacket that has LEDs all over it that react to the music around you. So when you go dancing at a club or to a music show, your jacket is lighting up with the music! And that's just the beginning.

    I also play some guitar and have written a few things here and there. I can jam along pretty easy to just about anything, but I'm not actively writing any material at the moment.

    I really, really enjoy learning French and German. I hope to find myself back on that side of the world sooner rather than later.

    I'm combining my arduino/raspberry pi projects with studying for IT certifications, so that I can get a stronger understanding of the tech as well as learn some skills that I can apply to a career of some sort.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian/Freegatarian (I won't pay for meat, but I'd eat it if it would otherwise go to complete waste)

Friends

Photos

Feedback