Richelle & Shawn

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Norway, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2020 - 01/09/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    221

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    After an incredible experience in Italy we've landed in Vietnam and a wee bit of Laos! Currently, trying to decide what's next :) We are open to pretty much anywhere!

    We are taking a leave of absence from our careers in Vancouver, Canada and are spending the next year traveling and living abroad! We love to travel and learn about different cultures and have found Workaway to be the perfect way to do this! We already have met so many incredible people and have a great recipe list going!
    We enjoy touring with our bikes to visit the islands and areas around our home in Canada. We love to spend time kayaking too. In the winter we love to snowboard and snowshoe in the mountains.
    We both have artist hearts and love to create and make things for our home and for Richelle, as a small side business. We love music and our year off started with getting tickets to a favorite artist in Amsterdam! We love photography and architecture. And spend time seeking both as we travel. We enjoy spending summer evenings sitting on our patio drinking good wine and looking through design books! Plus the occasional card/board game :)
    We laughingly call ourselves "bird nerds" and enjoy spending time at a nearby refuge for birds of prey. We both come from the prairies of Canada and grew up enjoying the outdoors and animals. We have a Norwegian forest cat named Sikuu (short for täysikuu- a Finnish word for "full moon") that we love! We look forward to meeting other animals during our travels!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in: 

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of: 

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Able to teach about: 

    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Shawn is trained as an electrician and is an overall handy guy! He loves to fix and build and create.
    Richelle is trained as a pediatric occupational therapist. She loves children, being outdoors and is interested in cooking, gardening, art projects (especially textiles!), photography and working with animals (cats, dogs, donkeys, horses, bees!!!)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    42 & 45

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Shawn doesn't eat seafood. Richelle doesn't eat beef or much meat. But we are adaptable!

Photos

Feedback