From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/06/2019 - 30/06/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Good Workawayer

  • My status


  • Description

    Hey! I am Gesa and I grew up in Luebeck, a city in the north of Germany close to the Baltic Sea. After graduating from highschool I worked and travelled around the world for one year. Back in Germany I moved to the city Halle where I am studying law now.
    My parents started to travel with me and my two years older sister when we were young and did many outdoor activities with us.
    I enjoy getting to know people from all over the world and explore beautiful landscapes and different cultures.
    I am really active and love to be in nature hiking, swimming, biking, kayaking, climbing, surfing...
    I would describe myself as an easy going person who always tries to talk when there is a problem.
    In my opinion workaway is a great opportunity to get deeper into a country, its people and its work.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    I am not afraid of working hard espacially when it comes to outdoor work and I am always exited about new challenges and learning something new. I always give my best and like to get jobs done when started.

    I have good Horseback Riding skills in Show Jumping, Dressage and as Horseback Riding Instructor and Trekking Leader. Also I like to work with the horse from the ground and always love to learn more about natural horsemanship and different ways of working with horses. So I learned the basics of Western Horseback Riding last summer.
    Mocking out, cleaning tack or feeding isn't a problem for me as I have an own horse (Polish Warmblood) at home.

    In Australia I worked on a big Cattle Property and Quarter Horse Breeding Enterprise where I learned their way of Horseback Riding which has a lot in common with Western Horseback Riding. Plus I learned to drive a quad on difficult terrain and how to move cattle on Horseback or by quad.
    As I like to work with animals I also worked on a diary farm in New Zealand for two weeks milking cows, doing tractor work and getting the cows in for milking. The milking and work with cattle was already familiar to me from helping on my uncles diary farm.
    Also I have some experiences in gardening as I volunteered on a organic farm in Newfoundland for four weeks and participated on a permaculture project on a small Island in Malaysia for ten days.
    While working one week on a small farm in New Zealand I could improve my weeding skills as I worked in the garden a lot and learned how to work with sheep.
    Moreover I did some gardening in our garden back home learning from my mother.

    In addittion I worked with children a lot.
    Regulary I do babysitting bringing the children to bed and playing with them.
    When I went to school almost every holiday I worked on a pony farm as a counselor and horseriding instructor for about thirty children.
    In summer 2017 I worked in an American Summercamp as a counselor and western horse riding instructor. There I also became a certificated life guard and supervised the kids at the waterfront. As well I was able to improve my english a lot during this month.
    I never get tired of new experiences and love to discover the world!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


Me and my horse Tristan doing Show Jumping.
Me and a goat in the Alps.
On a Pony Farm (a friend, my sister, me, a friend)
Reference I got from a WWOOF host
Reference I got from a WWOOF host
Riding Norwegians is always fun!
Milking cows in New Zealand
Quarterhorse 'Misty' and me after getting all the cattle in for branding the calves.
Kyra from Switzerland and me having fun painting the cattleramp on a Ranch in Australia.
Christmas ride at the Baltic Sea with my family and horse :)
Hiking on Mallorca.
Skiing in France.
Workaway on an Island in Malaysia.
My friend Hanna and me watching the sunset on Mallorca.