Freya

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Freya! I am 29 years old and was born in Scotland but raised in New Zealand.

    I spent 2015-2020 living in different parts of Europe (I was trying to make the most of my British passport before the dreaded Brexit). I studied English Literature in Bergen, Norway and international criminal; law in Tübingen, Germany.

    For the last couple of years I have been back in New Zealand working as the Conservation Ranger on Motuihe Island (an island 30 minutes boat ride from Auckland). I did all manner of tasks here including wildlife monitoring, lawnmowing, fence repairing, rodent control, land maintenance and tree planting. I loved being out in nature working closely with wildlife.

    I love cooking and have recently got into fermenting, dehydrating and preserving. Over the last year I have learnt how to make kombucha, preserve lemons, make marmalade and sauerkraut and made my own tea and spice blends by dehydrating herbs. Very interested in developing these skills and learning more about European plants.

    I am independent, curious, adaptable and bubbly but love meeting new people and socialising. I am a fast learner and will give almost anything a go.

    My last workaway experience (which I did through HelpX) was just before the start of the pandemic on a small farm in Germany. I loved the experience and am eager to do another one. I don't have many references through this app yet but please don't hold that against me! You can check out my Trustedhousesitters references here:

    If you can't see my profile, here is a copy and paste of some references I received from Couchsurfing and Trustedhousesitters:

    "Jonas, couchsurfer, 2018: "Freya has plenty of good vibes, a wonderful chill humour and is also really helpful which is pretty great. She's independent, seems fearless and very resourceful but my favourite quality is how easy she is to be around, neither being imposing or withdrawn and always up for a chat or a joke".

    Joseph, couchsurfer, 2021: "Freya has to be one of the warmest people I've met, a real whirlwind of smiles and good vibes - always up for a laugh or a chat (and always has an interesting take on any topic), Freya is definitely a joy to stay with!"

    Cathy (who I housesat for in December 2023) "Freya was amazing, communicated brilliantly and reliable. The dogs were very well looked after, had fabulous walks and the house was immaculate when we returned. She even washed and changed the bedlinen and towels. Couldn't be happier, would invite her back in a heartbeat. Many thanks Freya."

  • Interests

    Writing
    Hitchhiking
    Hiking
    DIY & crafts
    Cooking & food
    Books
    Camping
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'd love to learn German! And more than happy to teach English :)

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Languages

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Teaching
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    1. Cooking (I cooked each day for a family of 10 at a HelpX farmstay I did in Germany)

    2. Writing (I am a published writer but I'm always eager to develop this skill!)

    3. Nannying (over 9 years' experience looking after children)

    4. Basic land maintenance/house DIY (learnt through my job as a conservation ranger)

    5. Social media (I worked as a content creator for a magazine in the Netherlands and have extensive website/SEO experience)

    6. Food. I love trying new methods of working with food. In the past I have I have preserved lemon, made sauerkraut and kombucha and dehydrated foraged herbs. Happy to teach these skills and learn more :)

  • Age

    30

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Photos

Friends

Feedback