Sophie

From: Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, Greece

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/07/2016 - 05/12/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm a passionate french, history and home economics (nutrition, consumption and cooking) teacher for "regular teenager" from 12-16 years old. I did some extra degree to be able to teach kids (5 to 16 years old) with learning troubles (every kind of dys-, hyper activity, concentration troubles) and social, emotional and psychological difficulties. As some troubles come often along by hard personal histories, a lot of my pupils are coming from migrant families with a heavy background so I m trying to be carefull with my comunication, which is very important to me.

    During 3 years, I was working 3 days a week and the 2 others I was studying musical in a professional musical school (singing, dancing, acting). I just get the diploma from the musical school in december 2019. I love my teacher job and I won't change it but sometime I have little artistic projects for my pleasure and I'd like to use what I learned in that school with my pupils. I m sur that art can help to express what we can express by word.

    I'm the kind to do everything and anything (but I have to admit it: without really having a good level in nothing but enough to enjoy). I like playing piano (just the chords to sing with), I'm learning ukulele (thanks corona for giving me that much time at home), I learned how to knit when I was leaving for 6 months in Finland (to study), I learned the basic of tin whistle (thanks to my travel in Ireland), I like to take care of my organic garden in permaculture style, I was responsible for a pathfinders group durant more than 10 years (so I know some of the basic nodes, fire technic, outdoor lifestyle, kids animations, group-game), I ve done quiet a lot of social work in my free time (singing animation for old people and children, story telling, giving basic food with a organization for poor family in Switzerland cause yes they are even in Switzerland, found reasing, holliday in Mali in a school bulding project...), I make my own bread, cheese, soap, balm, hand cream...

    I'm really close from my family and a true believer. It gives me love to share all around. I'm a very curious one, wanting to learn more and more again and again depending on the opportunities that wind's bringing. I love workaway because it gave me already a lot of nice opportunities too make new friends and learn around the world.

    I'm an easy going person, almost always in a good mood and smiling. I'm leaving in a shared house with 10 other people (my two lovely grandparents included :-)) so I'm use to deal with different life style and it has never be a problem to me, I can even say that I like it a lot. I'm well organised and I'm not easy to get over stressed but doesn't mean I have no energy. I m just trying to use it on purpose to not waste it by worrying.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Cooking, gardening, taking care of young or older, teaching, social work (special care, animation, group game, organizing activities...), basic knitting and sewing, singing, basics home made product s (soap, cream, balm, Landry soap, déodorant...)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Swiss-French

  • What else ...

    My life lightmotiv : Do your best and let it be, God 'll take care.

    In other words: don't worry !

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat no meat (and no sea food but fish)

Feedback