Fiona

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/04/2019 - 31/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am happiest when outdoors surrounded by nature, I'm practical and pro-active, not shy of a power tool or doing physical work, love learning new skills, exploring, and experiencing new cultures. I bring my positivity and open mindedness to everything I do! I've been lucky enough to travel widely in Europe, mostly on a motorbike with my husband, but this is the first time I venture out alone, so I would love to make it an opportunity to both apply my skills to a project and learn some new ones. I care deeply about our environment, and together with a passion for gardening, am keen to participate in sustainable smallholding projects. Food is another big love in my life, and I thoroughly enjoy both cooking and eating! I'm clean, tidy, considerate and friendly, which I hope will make me a welcome Workaway volunteer! It would be great to gain a real insight into the Italian culture, which from everything I have experienced so far, I already love!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I'll start by saying I'm always keen to learn! I enjoy working with plants, and have a good basic understanding of gardening principles, with experience growing both plants and vegetables. I am a keen amateur cook, and am regularly in the kitchen experimenting. Having worked in the theatre world on sets, I'm also quite practical in terms of making and mending and using tools. In my job I've spent a lot of time touring, driving our van around the country and setting up for performances, so I'm very used to lifting and loading and physical work. I am clean and tidy, and always keep my little home a positive and peaceful place to be. Most of all, I am full of enthusiasm!

  • Languages spoken

    I am keen to learn the Italian language, having spent 7 years working in opera I have listened to the language so much that it's very familiar, hopefully this will provide a strong foundation.

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    I love hiking so I hope to be able to walk during my time off. I also enjoy cycling and kayaking if there is the opportunity. I have spent a lot of time travelling on a motorbike with my husband, and love the simple life this brings, having very little with you except a tent and a few clothes, eating and living outdoors in a simple way.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am vegetarian

Photos

Feedback