Elizabeth

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Indonesia, Italy, Martinique, Reunion, Spain, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, I’m Elizabeth from England. I’m hard-working, smiley and good-natured, and really like meeting new like-minded people and working with children too!
    I’m 20 years old and am currently taking a year to travel abroad, learn as much as I can and do lots of adventurous things! So far, I have completed my Divemaster in Bali, worked as a voluntary teacher in a slum school in India and traveled around the country with other volunteers, I worked as a French-speaking receptionist in a ski hotel in the Alps and interned for a fashion house in Paris - I really love fashion and textiles , and eventually hope to pursue this as a career. I have also just completed my personal training course in Spain as fitness is something else which really interests me! I’ve really loved every second of this year so far and I’m now looking for a few exciting experiences to fill July and August of my Summer. This would make a lovely end to my gap year, before I begin studying advanced French and beginners Italian at Cambridge university in October.
    I would be really interested to gain some experience and build on my existing skills, possibly using my new personal trainer and fitness class instructor qualifications. I would also like to stay in Italy (ideally Milan or Florence) to explore, learn about the language and culture, and perhaps this could be through spending some time looking after children. (I do have quite a lot of experience in teaching and leadership with children already and really enjoy it!) Also, being from rainy England, spending time anywhere sunny would be so lovely!!
    I’d love to start a new adventure very soon, so would be really interested in any hosts who have availability over the next two months (July and August 2019) for fairly short-term work. 😊

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    EDUCATION:
    Confirmed place at Newnham College, Cambridge University to study Modern Languages (French and Italian), commencing October 2019
    Norwich High School for Girls, Norwich, England, 2003 - 2018
    A Levels in French A*, German A, Textiles A* (August 2018)
    iGCSEs in French A*, German A*, Art A*, Textiles A*, Dual Science A*, A*, English Literature A*, Mathematics A*, History A, English Language A (August 2015)
    Immersive German Course in Berlin (August 2017)
    Immersive French Course in Biarritz (July 2016)
    One-week Fashion Design Course, Nottingham Trent University (August 2017)

    ACHIEVEMENTS:
    Qualified Personal Trainer (EPTI – European Personal Training Institute) - Active IQ Level 3 (EQF Level 4) Certificate in Personal Training
    Qualified Fitness Instructor (EPTI) - Active IQ Level 2 (EQF Level 3) Certificate in Fitness Instructing (Gym)
    CIMSPA endorsed EPTI Circuits Instructor Certificate
    CIMSPA endorsed EPTI Kettlebells Instructor
    Emergency First Response Certification, 2017
    High and low ropes, zip line and climbing wall facilitator - qualified by The Adventure Guild, 2019
    Scuba Diving - qualified as PADI Open Water Diver (2011), Marine Ecology course and Advanced Open Water Diver (2015), PADI Divemaster (2018)
    The Emma Moroni Prize for Modern Foreign Languages, 2018
    The Michelle Ketteringham Memorial Prize for Spoken German, 2018
    The Sixth Form Subject Prize for Textiles, 2018
    Norfolk County Scholar Certificate, 2018; Academic Prizes: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017
    Duke of Edinburgh Awards: Gold 2016; Silver 2015; Bronze 2014
    Teaching English as a Foreign Language Certificate (UK-TEFL), 2017
    Young Enterprise ecological sustainability award holder and county finalist, 2016
    Young Leader’s Qualification Girlguiding UK, 2016
    Full, Clean UK driving License from 2016
    Food Hygiene Level 2, 2018
    Level 1 HSK Mandarin, 2016

    WORK EXPERIENCE, COMMUNITY AND VOLUNTARY WORK:
    Voluntary personal trainer for general public, Spain, May 2019
    Completion of Bootcamp Instruction and PT Padwork workshops and practical application (2019)
    Voluntary assistant for junior dance classes, Norwich High School for Girls 2012 -2013
    Hotel receptionist (French speaking), Hotel Terminus Mont Blanc, Saint Gervais, Jan – Apr 2019
    Six weeks Divemaster internship with Blue Season Bali, Sep/Oct 2018
    Seven weeks volunteer school teaching (English/Maths) in Delhi, India with IVHQ, Oct/Nov 2018
    Fashion showroom Intern for Huishan Zhang throughout Paris Fashion Week, Jan 2019
    Part-time waitress at The Cock Inn, Cantley, 2015 - 2017
    Fund raising: Elizabeth carried out a fundraising programme to cover her two expeditions with Operation Wallacea. This has included running a series of craft stalls to sell her handmade cards, jewellery, soaps, and cakes, along with supermarket bag packing and taking a part time job.
    Operation Wallacea, two-week volunteer expedition in Madagascar to carry out vital research for international biodiversity and sustainability programme in jungle and marine habitats July 2017
    Acle Rainbows helper (Girlguiding UK), 2013 – 2016
    Participation in Norwich Fashion Week Fashion Jam, March 2016 – a 24-hour fund raising challenge to create an upcycled outfit from Age UK stock, culminating in a show at Norwich Castle with designs auctioned for charity
    Voluntary work at the Design and Enterprise Day, Norwich Fashion Week 2016
    Two weeks work experience at Boden (fashion retailer) London offices in the Print Design and Womenswear Departments, July 2015
    Operation Wallacea: two-week volunteer expedition in Indonesia to carry out vital research for international biodiversity and sustainability programme in jungle and marine habitats, July 2015
    Volunteer on two projects at the Clare School for handicapped children – planning and assisting the children with the creation of murals, 2014, 2015
    Volunteer at three prep school art workshops – aiding the children in needle and felt work to produce themed individual pieces
    Costume production for school pantomime, December 2015

  • Languages spoken

    English (native speaker), fluent in French, strong grasp of the German language and will begin studying Italian in Summer 2019.

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    HOBBIES AND INTERESTS:
    Devising and adhering to a structured resistance and cardiovascular training programme in the gym
    Fitness training with peers in the gym, advising
    Developing kettle bell and TRX skills
    Research into nutrition and new gym-based training techniques and advanced programming
    Attending group exercise classes on a regular basis - Synrgy circuits, Boxercise, Bodypump, Bodycombat, Bodybalance, Indoor Cycle, Bootcamps
    Running
    Skiing, downhill and freestyle
    Athletics, represented school in County and Regional Schools Athletics competitions
    Gymnastics, competed recreationally
    Trained for various sports including ballet and tennis
    Scuba diving, certified PADI Divemaster
    Many crafts, including felting, sugarcraft, and production of cards, jewellery, soap and dolls house miniatures, drawing and dressmaking

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback